Is my C02 atomic diffuser Faulty?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2013, 06:53 PM   #1
jaekwong
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 113
Default

Is my C02 atomic diffuser Faulty?


I've recently bleached and cleaned my diffuser in hopes that it would mist better, but I still finding it not misting, and still see large bubbles. These bubbles tend to just float right to the top and sit there.

I've posted a video, have a look.

You can see the only part of the diffuser that is misting is the middle of all the bubble streams. the ones on the sides are just creating large bubbles. And really only the diffuser on one side of the edge has bubbles coming out, no where else is the diffuser is there bubbles/mist coming out.

Would like some opinions on this. Video below



Thank you
jaekwong is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2013, 06:56 PM   #2
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,199
Default

Did it ever work better? It looks like a cheap one.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2013, 07:36 PM   #3
jaekwong
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyWithTheFish View Post
Did it ever work better? It looks like a cheap one.
To be honest, I don't remember. Where's a good place to pick up a good diffuser for good price online.
jaekwong is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2013, 08:21 PM   #4
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,207
Default

Someone just posted a cheap fix for that problem. I think it was oldpunk. Get your diffuser clean and BONE dry. This means really dry if you've never heard the expression. Superglue all the way around the circumference of the ceramic disk where it meets the glass part. If you noticed that is where all of the big stupid bubbles are coming from. Good luck!
xmas_one is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2013, 09:24 PM   #5
awesometim1
Algae Grower
 
awesometim1's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 148
Default

Maybe there's not enough pressure if you're using a DIY CO2 system?
__________________
~Tim
awesometim1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2013, 12:56 AM   #6
Aqguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ca.
Posts: 506
Default

My atomic diffuser took 45lbs to work properly super fine micro bubbles ,
__________________
100g,75g,50g,40g,27g,10g
Aqguy is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2013, 02:10 AM   #7
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

That's not an Atomic diffuser, and it was me who suggested the superglue fix. And I second that suggestion

Or, if you want to upgrade, Google Atomic diffuser so you know what it looks like, then do a search for diffusers on Evilbay. You'll find a bunch of knockoffs that generally work just as well, but yeah, you'll need 30+ psi to be able to run them.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2013, 02:12 AM   #8
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevmo911 View Post
That's not an Atomic diffuser, and it was me who suggested the superglue fix. And I second that suggestion

Or, if you want to upgrade, Google Atomic diffuser so you know what it looks like, then do a search for diffusers on Evilbay. You'll find a bunch of knockoffs that generally work just as well, but yeah, you'll need 30+ psi to be able to run them.
I get you regulator buildin' types mixed up. That's a good fix, I used it on an old crappy diffuser I had laying around, works great, thanks!
xmas_one is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012