Ramp timer pro details are out! - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Sponsors > Current-USA and Ecoxotic


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 09:20 PM   #31
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drunk_Tank View Post
i have the single ramp timer and it seems to me the lower you have have the light output tweaked the worse the "strobe light" effect. i have a piranha tank non planted, they dont like bright lights so i had the CS+ set pretty dim with the reds cranked 3/4 way up. it looked great and the fish seemed more active and less washed out. i got my timer a few weeks later and the first night during the 15min ramp down it was like a disco party in my tank and my fish were freeking out. the next night i night with the whites and reds turned right up and it works as advertised. pretty disappointing. i will try other setting combos when i find time to see what else i can and cant get away with. without the ramp up/down its just and expensise digital timer.
Hey Drunk tank,

We did have some issues with compatibility of ramp timers with Satellite plus LEDs. Again, I'm really sorry for the late response. I'm solely responsible for the forums and it took time to confirm with all the engineers and such then the holidays hit. I'm really sorry about that, I should have made the announcement earlier that it is not compatible! Here's a good compatibility chart you can refer to.

http://www.guitarfish.org/2013/11/10...usa-ramp-timer
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2013, 09:23 PM   #32
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 251
Default

To everyone, feel free to email me at kevin@current-usa.com so I can fix this all for you guys. I will do my very best but keep in mind I'm not customer support. I just want to pick up the ball that I dropped. I'm really sorry about this all!
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 09:24 PM   #33
Scuba Dave
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Denver
Posts: 1
Default Timer work around

Using a universal remote with learning and timer abilities allowed me to do just about anything I would have liked this timer to do. But does them without sacrificing the weather functions and without any flashing issues.

The only Real drawback is the ir sensor has to be in line of sight to the programmed remote.

Depending on the abilities of your remote ramping up and down is not much of an issue, but for something fairly easy I suggest just learning the presets and setting for them to go on or off when you like.

The only feature I can think of that some people may like to do that may not be possible with this work around is some sort of random weather effect.
Scuba Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 12:35 PM   #34
londonloco
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: virginia, usa
Posts: 696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Current USA View Post

Hey Drunk tank,

We did have some issues with compatibility of ramp timers with Satellite plus LEDs. Again, I'm really sorry for the late response. I'm solely responsible for the forums and it took time to confirm with all the engineers and such then the holidays hit. I'm really sorry about that, I should have made the announcement earlier that it is not compatible! Here's a good compatibility chart you can refer to.

http://www.guitarfish.org/2013/11/10...usa-ramp-timer
Trying to understand this limitation. As long as I use the presets colors or dynamic lighting effects on my Sat+, the timer will work and I will not get any flickering. If I adjust the lighting output with the +/- button, the timer cause the lights to flicker. Is this correct? Thanks......
__________________
londonloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:42 PM   #35
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by londonloco View Post
Trying to understand this limitation. As long as I use the presets colors or dynamic lighting effects on my Sat+, the timer will work and I will not get any flickering. If I adjust the lighting output with the +/- button, the timer cause the lights to flicker. Is this correct? Thanks......
From our testing, that is generally true but with some timers and fixtures the light will sometimes flicker from 0%-5% intensity then at 5% the flickering will stop. Honestly, it's bare noticeable and I still use ramp timers with my satellites.
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 01:48 AM   #36
freshwaterphish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Can I use a orbit marine on a freshwater plank tank

Blue's Galaxy S4
freshwaterphish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 08:03 PM   #37
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freshwaterphish View Post
Can I use a orbit marine on a freshwater plank tank

Blue's Galaxy S4
I think the whites would be too blue. It wouldn't grow plants too well in that spectrum.
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 08:08 PM   #38
freshwaterphish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Yes I alrwdy spoke to your tech guys Current usa. Have order led plus with timer canceled other light. Thank you all for responses

Blue's Galaxy S4
freshwaterphish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 12:57 AM   #39
All4Fish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Michigan, United States
Posts: 36
Default Freshwater LED+ or Marine

I am confused; LFS recommended an Orbit Marine for my 75g tank to get more light; I am concerned that it is too much or not the correct spectrum; is it suitable? Questions: 1-can I program my own schedule to reduce intensity if needed? 2- can I adjust color balance to suit freshwater plants and fish? Is there a better choice? Thank you for any help! PS - it seems there was a post about the whites being too blue and not best for growing plants.
All4Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012