Do you need an inriched substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
Davyglav
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: England
Posts: 2
Default

Do you need an inriched substrate?


Hi everyone,

New to the forum and wondering if I have already made a mistake, last month I set up my RIO 240 with the intention of it being a planted discus tank, I bought a 1400l per hour external with a uv light from all pond solutions and it's been cycling since. However the tank came with some silver silica sand and I opted to use this now I am wondering if I have messed up by not adding any inriched base substrate? I have a 48" discus collection of plants ordered from plants alive that should be here this week. Also I have jbl aquarium peat ordered to naturally lower ph, I hope it doesn't cloud up the water too much but I replaced the standard media with seachem matrix and purigen?



P.S. will cabomba grow without CO2?
Cheers
Davyglav is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2013, 12:03 AM   #2
chad320
Planted Tank VIP
 
chad320's Avatar
 
PTrader: (101/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Spring Valley, IL
Posts: 7,646
Default

Plants are plants whether you grow the in water or not, meaning they need nutrients to live. I would look for some root tabs and look for some ferts for your water column. Plants like dirt and there are several manufactured substrates designed specifically for planted tanks. The JBL peat might leach some tannins into your water making it brown but it will clear with a few 50% water changes. As for the Cabomba, its considered an easy plant to grow and will do fine w/o Co2.
__________________
chad320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:00 AM   #3
Terminalance
Algae Grower
 
Terminalance's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 128
Default

Your purigen should absorb any tannins, but as stated above, keep up with the water changes. That stuff works magic for tea water. And the cabomba. There's a reason it's labeled as an invasive species in most states. It has been recorded to grow 2" PER DAY in the wild. Mine grows in a 29 gallon tank about an inch per day under a single T8......with no C02 or ferts. By the way, the stuff is impossible to kill. Otherwise beautiful plant.
__________________
Terminalance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 10:59 PM   #4
Davyglav
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: England
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the advice guys my plants arrived today and they are all looking pretty good in the tank, I also got root tabs to try get some nutrients for the root systems so now it's just about waiting and hopefully they will settle, will add some pics soon.

Thanks again
Davyglav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cabomba, co2, discus planted tank, new setup, sand

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012