Water pump
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2013, 01:35 AM   #1
Fishing35
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Default

Water pump


Hey everyone,

I'm looking for a water pump to make water changes easier. One that I can put in my treated water and pump it into my tanks. Sick of churning up sand when I dump my water in. Thanks for any help.

Luke
Fishing35 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2013, 01:36 AM   #2
edstewart5
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 296
Default

I have the marineland maxi jet 1200. Got it for $17 off amazon. And it works great. I just put it on top if my driftwood to disputes the flow with a 20ft hose.
edstewart5 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2013, 02:33 AM   #3
exv152
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
exv152's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 949
Default

+2 on the maxi jet 1200
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club,# 496
25g iwagumi
125g high tech
exv152 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2013, 02:51 AM   #4
Fishing35
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks guys, I will have to get one. perfect price range.

Luke
Fishing35 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2013, 02:55 AM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,398
Default

I use a fountain pump. I have several. For smaller tanks (up to about 20 gallons) the pumps that will run about 100 gph @ 4-6' of head are good. Slow enough not to disturb the substrate.
For larger tanks I use pumps that will move about double that.

I use tubing from hardware stores on the pumps and aim it along the surface of the water so it does not dig into the substrate.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2013, 01:52 PM   #6
PlantedRich
Planted Tank Guru
 
PlantedRich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Posts: 3,188
Default

If you should overshoot and find you have a pump that stirs the sand, you can cheat!
Sometimes a simple clamp like a cloths pin can be put on the tubing to restrict the flow a bit. Crimping with your hand works for short term filling.
PlantedRich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2013, 09:17 PM   #7
Fishing35
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for all the great advice. I'll put it to good use.

Luke
Fishing35 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012