Using purigen in a sponge filter - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2013, 03:10 AM   #16
Cokers
Planted Member
 
Cokers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandit1200 View Post
Shoving anything in there will restrict your waterflow. If this is an air powered sponge filter it will likely stop your filter from working completely.
It's driven by a 50 gph powerhead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgaron View Post
Buy some elodia aka armchairs, it eats through nitrates and is an easy grow and it grows floating
I'm gonna assume you mean elodea aka anacharish, and yes, I do have that in there, as well at watersprite and frogbit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chad320 View Post
I would guess the sponge filter IS the problem. Its probably not enough filtration for your bioload and you would be better off with a HOB filter, even if its a small one.
All I have in the tank are 5 pygmy cories, 8 RCS, and 1 bamboo shrimp.

I suspect the cause of my high nitrates is from the osmocote+ I have placed in the substrate, perhaps I placed too much or not deep enough and it is leaching some stuff into the water.
__________________
No self respecting aquarist worth his salt is without a bucket -Anon

5.5 Gallon College Tank
Cokers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2013, 03:18 AM   #17
Cokers
Planted Member
 
Cokers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 291
Default

So after some more reading, it turns out that purigen only removes the organic source of ammonia and nitrogen. Would the Deep Blue Professional Nitrate pads absorb nitrates?
__________________
No self respecting aquarist worth his salt is without a bucket -Anon

5.5 Gallon College Tank
Cokers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:30 AM   #18
devilduck
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
devilduck's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 590
Default

You can try nitri-zorb, but that just trades nitrates for sodium. I've also added too many o+ tablets and had a nitrate spike that lasted four months. You can wait it out, replace the substrate, or add a ton of plants, or increase water changes.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 4
__________________
devilduck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:32 AM   #19
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,124
Default

Probably would.

I would approach the problem this way:

Step 1: Remove nitrates from the tap water, or use a water that has none. This is a small tank, it will not blow the budget to buy RO or distilled water for it. Use tap water ONLY if it is proven that the plants are capable of handling the nitrate load.

Step 2: Redo the tank, removing the substrate (and its overload of Osmocote).

By removing two of the three sources of NO3 you are left with the protein in the food as the main source, and every fish/shrimp keeper deals with that. A good assortment of plants ought to be able to cope with that much nitrogen.

Comment to two of the people who posted on page one:
Excess NO3 is not a lack of or incomplete nitrogen cycle.
If there is no other source of NO3, then high NO3 is a sign that the cycle IS complete.
Seeing ammonia or nitrite (NO2) are signs that the nitrogen cycle is not complete.

In this specific case the OP said the tap water tested positive for NO3, and later posted about Osmocote in the substrate.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:43 AM   #20
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
Probably would.

I would approach the problem this way:

Step 1: Remove nitrates from the tap water, or use a water that has none. This is a small tank, it will not blow the budget to buy RO or distilled water for it. Use tap water ONLY if it is proven that the plants are capable of handling the nitrate load.

Step 2: Redo the tank, removing the substrate (and its overload of Osmocote).

By removing two of the three sources of NO3 you are left with the protein in the food as the main source, and every fish/shrimp keeper deals with that. A good assortment of plants ought to be able to cope with that much nitrogen.

Comment to two of the people who posted on page one:
Excess NO3 is not a lack of or incomplete nitrogen cycle.
If there is no other source of NO3, then high NO3 is a sign that the cycle IS complete.
Seeing ammonia or nitrite (NO2) are signs that the nitrogen cycle is not complete.

In this specific case the OP said the tap water tested positive for NO3, and later posted about Osmocote in the substrate.
OP indicated quickly rising no3 levels, his tank is little over one month old. He had said nothing about the o+ before my post. O+ or not, I stand by my original estimation that his cycle is incomplete.
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:50 AM   #21
Cokers
Planted Member
 
Cokers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 291
Default

My tank has been running since September and I have placed 3 O+ tabs in my tank. What I will probably do is to take a cup and scoop up the substrate where I have placed the tabs and try to remove the O+ pellets by hand. I will also continue to monitor my nitrates to see how fast it rises over the following days. After today's 40% water change, it is a 10-20ppm.
__________________
No self respecting aquarist worth his salt is without a bucket -Anon

5.5 Gallon College Tank
Cokers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012