Two tanks off one regulator?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 02:28 AM   #1
Highlander
Planted Member
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 162
Default

Two tanks off one regulator?


As the title says, does anyone do this? I am building a concoa right now and want to run two tanks off of it. Most likely I will have it split with a T. One solenoid and needle valve for each tank. Also, related to my setup, how long can the tubing be? Reason I ask is because I want to store the CO2 tank in the basement and run the lines up to the aquariums. I would say the tubing would be no longer than 8-10 feet. One tank will be a 55g (upgrading to a 90g cube next summer/fall). The other is a 40b that I am starting to set up now. Thanks for any help and advice.
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2013, 02:50 AM   #2
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Yeah, that's all fine. But unless you want to run them on two different schedules, you'd only need 1 solenoid.

solenoid > tee > 2xnv

No worries on the tubing length. If it were much longer, you might want to put one of the nv's inline, just to minimize the length of time for flow changes to stabilize (only a potential issue when adjusting). But it's not a big deal - you can keep the nv's at the reg if you want and run a hundred feet of tubing.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 02:56 AM   #3
Highlander
Planted Member
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 162
Default

Nice. They will be on the same schedule, just in different rooms. I didn't even think about needing only one solenoid. I tried to search for someone that does this but couldn't find much. Thanks.
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 03:12 AM   #4
FlyingHellFish
Wannabe Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default

You mean like this? This guy made a pretty decent one.
FlyingHellFish is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 03:21 AM   #5
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,230
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default



Here's a quick pic of mine. Awaiting new parts to rebuild it. I had it running two lines across the room (along the walls) to each tank.
__________________
Down_Shift is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 03:25 AM   #6
Highlander
Planted Member
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingHellFish View Post
You mean like this? This guy made a pretty decent one.
I saw that photo a while back and for the life of me couldn't find it again. And yes, exactly like that. Thanks!
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 03:26 AM   #7
Highlander
Planted Member
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Down_Shift View Post


Here's a quick pic of mine. Awaiting new parts to rebuild it. I had it running two lines across the room (along the walls) to each tank.
Sweet! How long is/was your tubing?
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 04:35 AM   #8
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,230
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highlander View Post
Sweet! How long is/was your tubing?
45'? I had tanks across my living room. So I just ran it along the walls. Make sure its co2 proof tubing.

The T is on in a weird way right now until I get my other parts. Needs to be taken apart and re-clocked
__________________
Down_Shift is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 04:39 AM   #9
FlyingHellFish
Wannabe Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highlander View Post
I saw that photo a while back and for the life of me couldn't find it again. And yes, exactly like that. Thanks!
Shout out to Bettatails, I copy his design.
FlyingHellFish is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 09:46 AM   #10
thesawguy
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 258
Default

I have three tanks (40 g, 20 g, and 5 g) running off one regulator, two in the basement and one directly upstairs in the living room. For some reason I never was interested in DIY regulator building so I had GLA put on a triple manifold.
thesawguy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 01:38 PM   #11
PlantedRich
Planted Tank Guru
 
PlantedRich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Posts: 3,201
Default

I fed two tanks for a while until I moved one tank where it was not practical to run tubing down the hall. One item that may/may not be a factor on the tubing. Depending on what method you use for diffusers, the tubing can "balloon" quite a bit when you stop the flow over a long length. Not a problem if you are using low pressure like for a reactor versus a ceramic disk. Just something to consider when placing the needle valves and solenoid.
The ballooning can make watching a bubble counter to set flow a real puzzle.
PlantedRich is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 02:09 PM   #12
Highlander
Planted Member
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlantedRich View Post
I fed two tanks for a while until I moved one tank where it was not practical to run tubing down the hall. One item that may/may not be a factor on the tubing. Depending on what method you use for diffusers, the tubing can "balloon" quite a bit when you stop the flow over a long length. Not a problem if you are using low pressure like for a reactor versus a ceramic disk. Just something to consider when placing the needle valves and solenoid.
The ballooning can make watching a bubble counter to set flow a real puzzle.
Both will be getting reactors. One with a Rex Griggs and I haven't decided on the other yet. I may stick with a Rex or try out a Cerges so that I have built both.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Down_Shift View Post
45'? I had tanks across my living room. So I just ran it along the walls. Make sure its co2 proof tubing.

The T is on in a weird way right now until I get my other parts. Needs to be taken apart and re-clocked
Wow. Now I have full confidence in running mine. My wife will be happy that I won't have to build a new reg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingHellFish View Post
Shout out to Bettatails, I copy his design.
Yeah. He and Oldpunk make/made nice regs. I can follow the basic design, but not the same parts. Too expensive for me. I will be going with Fabco with the bubble counters (maybe). I may not use the counters. I am not planning on using a controller.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesawguy View Post
I have three tanks (40 g, 20 g, and 5 g) running off one regulator, two in the basement and one directly upstairs in the living room. For some reason I never was interested in DIY regulator building so I had GLA put on a triple manifold.
Nice. I remember seeing a pic of Oldpunk building one with a manifold

Last edited by Darkblade48; 11-05-2013 at 11:18 PM.. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 05:22 PM   #13
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

If you decide to switch to a pH controller per tank, you'll need two solenoids.
__________________
RAOK Club #105

Pay It Forward, Further the Community!

It's CO2. See-Oh-Two. Not C02 (see-zero-two).
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 09:30 PM   #14
Highlander
Planted Member
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
If you decide to switch to a pH controller per tank, you'll need two solenoids.
Good to know but that is noy the plan as of now. Thanks
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2013, 04:33 PM   #15
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (93/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,350
Default

I purchased a regular aquariumplants.com regulator and then oldpunk (poster here) made me a 40 dollar splitter into 3. So one co2 outlet became 3. I only use two of those outlets where I inject Co2 on both ends of the tank. This way I make sure that all of the tank gets plenty of co2.
hedge_fund is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012