Lighting for a 72g bowfront
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 01-30-2004, 12:53 AM   #1
fandsw
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)

Hey there,

newbie here, been lurking for a while, lots of great info on this site......really have enjoyed it. Got a question:

I have a 72g bowfront that's been setup for about 3 weeks now, cycled with bio-spira. Community tank with livebearer & tetras, as well as a few bottom dwellers. Only tank in the house, so I wanted a nice mix of fish & plants. Got a nice selection of plants from a internet mail-order house, planted into Flourite. Light is a 2x55W CF AGA 48" light strip, which I now realize is not enough, especially for the depth of the tank (> 20"). Plants were holding their own for about a week, when I had some fish come down with Ich. Treatment with Rid-Ich+ and the insufficient light is starting to cause the plants to die. Rid-Ich+ is temporary and will go away in a few days, however the light problem must be solved.