Graphite Powder as substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2013, 02:23 AM   #1
sheldonw
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Slocan, BC
Posts: 2
Default

Graphite Powder as substrate


Heya,

I have been fortunate enough to obtain a heap load of graphite powder and was wondering what people's thought's are on using it as a substrate for a planted tank? It sure would look purdy! heh.

Sheldon.
sheldonw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2013, 05:10 AM   #2
DaveK
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Outside Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 940
Default

I've never heard of anyone using graphite powder as a substrata.

I don't think it would work too well, because I have used graphite powder as a dry lubricant. It's very soft and gets all over everything. I think you'd end up with a mess to clean up.
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:27 AM   #3
sheldonw
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Slocan, BC
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah, thanks for the input. I'm actually going to try and find a filter bag that will hold this stuff, going to have to be a small micron based filter and use it as filter media or perhaps put it directly in my sump/ref. instead of mud. It's becoming a popular medium for water filtration, especially if I can break it down to graphene properly.

Gonna be some trial and error I'm sure, I have a diatom filter sitting here, I may start testing with it's filter bag and see. I'm pretty certain it'll only be a benefit to my tanks if I can contain it!
sheldonw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 10:18 PM   #4
lochaber
Planted Tank Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,029
Default

I think it's generally too fine and light to be much use as a substrate, and that's just the physical aspects. I'm pretty sure graphite is relatively inert chemically, but not sure if there would be other sorts of issues with it reacting with stuff in the water/food/whatever.
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:43 AM   #5
James M
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 427
Default

I can't see any possible benefit - on disadvantages and hassles.
Kind of a bizarre idea honestly, especially in a planted aquarium of all places.
James M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012