Drill a hole into the filter intake tube?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2004, 12:46 AM   #1
Hoosch
Algae Grower
 
Hoosch's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to Hoosch
Default

I've heard people talking about drilling a hole in the filter intake tube just beneath the surface of the water to prevent the entire tank from draining in case of a leak somewhere along the filter/CO2 reactor set-up. Is this a common practice? Is it recommended?
__________________
80g Long (72"L x 12"W x 18"H)
Pressurized CO2 - 20lb tank, JBJ regulator w/solenoid, Milwaukee pH controller, DIY reactor inline with filter output
A H Supply 2x96 watt Bright Kit w/6700K bulbs; fan-cooled
100% Eco-Complete substrate
Via Aqua 300 watt Titanium Heater
Eheim 2217 canister filter

Polypterus senegalus (2) [6"]
Polypterus ornatipinnis [6"]
Polypterus delhezi [7"]
Polypterus weeksii [6"]
Polypterus polli [6"]
Electric catfish [7"]
Rhino plecostomus [6"]
Hoosch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2004, 12:54 AM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I don't know if it's common but many people do it. And I guess it really depends on your hardware setup. On my larger tanks I run Rena Cannister filters. Short of the housing cracking I can't see how they would start to leak. If I do maintenance on them and they are not leaking when I restart them they are not going to start leaking short of a disaster. Now if you are using a wet/dry with a overflow it's a different story. Also on smaller tanks I use a HOB filter and I don't worry about them leaking either.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2004, 04:01 AM   #3
Daemonfly
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Daemonfly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 355
Default

I've only seen it done on wet/dry filters or any other configuration where a siphon can empty your tank.
Daemonfly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2004, 04:21 AM   #4
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

I'm going to do that with my sump... however, I'm planning on having a plug for that hole, so that I can keep it running during large water changes.

--cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2004, 01:22 PM   #5
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

I've never heard of people doing this with closed system canister filters. I did it with a sump, but it seems like an overzealous precaution for a good canister filter.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2004, 03:06 AM   #6
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

I tend to agree with GulfCoastAquarium. However, my fluval 104 did sprig a leake once.. (hose slipped off, my fault)

-cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mod. a H.O.T. Magnum/diatom filter....? fedge Equipment 28 08-30-2004 12:00 PM
Filtration Dillema.... MacTech Equipment 7 07-08-2004 02:55 AM
Filter Intake Capt. General Planted Tank Discussion 5 04-02-2004 04:51 PM
How to Prime a Filter anonapersona Equipment 2 02-01-2004 07:47 PM
airstone + filter intake ValorG Equipment 1 01-06-2004 03:16 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012