High Maintenance tank but low maintenance GF! *UPDATE: ADA60P to Custom wannabe 60F! - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2013, 09:29 AM   #31
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default


Making two broken reef keepers to one working reef keeper.




Wired everything up. Set up the filter. Blasting co2. On 24 hour flood/leak alert to make sure everything is safe before cleaning everything up.

d
Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2013, 09:30 AM   #32
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Projectp View Post
Nice lookin E90. Don't know where you get it serviced but if you ever want to trade aquarium stuff for labor let me know (I'm at chambers on comm ave).
Thanks man I'll keep that in mind.
Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 04:22 AM   #33
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default





Did a water change today to get rid of all the cloudy slime. Still some on the substrate. Can't get rid of most of it without uprooting everything.


Does anyone know what these are?? I keep finding piles of them in my tank. At first I thought they were pebbles but there's too many grouped up to be coincidence. Thought it could be some kind of larva egg so I tried to squeeze it. They are hard.


Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:07 AM   #34
keats
Planted Member
 
keats's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 291
Default

Looks like KIX. all jokes aside, did you use osmocote in the substrate?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
keats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:15 AM   #35
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Down_Shift View Post
Loaded the substrate with about 43 root tabs.
Yeah man...might be the whopping 43 tabs rearing its ugly head. If those are O+ tabs, you might have a crazy amount of ammonia on your hands. Check your water parameters.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:19 AM   #36
keats
Planted Member
 
keats's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 291
Default

Uh ohh..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
keats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:44 AM   #37
HSA1255
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 106
Default

From your root tabs right... what kind did you use? Def looks like a plant fertilizer.
HSA1255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 03:23 PM   #38
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default

Oh that's not horrible then I thought it was done kind of parasite egg or something.

There's two piles one by my crypts and one around the grass. I'll leave then as is. Didn't know the osmo. Ferts get solid like that.

Brian: will pull out the water test tonight.

I don't plan on keeping any stock in the tank until December. Will be doing regular wc till then.
Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 03:38 PM   #39
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

Looking good man!

Wish I seen this earlier. I have the exact pole you made to hang the light I don't use anymore :\

Oh well

- Sent from a Phablet
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 03:39 PM   #40
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default

Random question.

I have about 4 inches of space in the can filter. What should I stuff it w? Purigen ? Feels like wasted space
Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:06 PM   #41
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,319
Default

Purigen is good... but you're not suppose to add it until you have a fully cycled tank. I also use filter floss and extra bio in my filters.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 06:01 AM   #42
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default

Random Question #2:


Should I get another Ray2 or a Planted+?
The planted+ would have nothing par-wise with the ~18" of height I have.
Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 06:18 AM   #43
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,319
Default

I'd get the Planted+ so you get some reds.. Plus you can run the moonlights if you wanted for night viewing.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 06:22 AM   #44
Down_Shift
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beantown
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via AIM to Down_Shift
Default

brian bro you are always on top of things lol.
Down_Shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 09:37 AM   #45
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,663
Default

If you already have a Ray II, you should get the Monster Ray to supplement. You already have plenty of blue light coming from the Ray II led's and the planted+ will only only add more of the same LEDs + some reds. full RGBs would be the most bang for the buck and useful in your setup.
__________________
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012