Toad Escaping?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium

Old 01-23-2004, 04:43 PM   #1
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (6/100%)
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian

Has anyone had trouble with Frogs or Toads escaping? I can't find my Fire-Belly Toad! Argh!! I keep a lid on it, but it isn't exactly tight fitting. He would have had to squeeze through a fairly small opening to get out. I'm still hoping he's just hiding in the pile of rocks somewhere. This is my first try at keeping reptiles/amphibians of any kind and I'll be bummed if he's really gone, dangit.
Time for a much tighter lid!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-23-2004, 04:58 PM   #2
Zurp
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)

My fire-belly toads can't easily stick to glass, but they do hide a lot when humidity is low, and after heavy eating. Mine often wedge them-selves between my loose mosses and the glass. They also like to wedge them-selves into nooks of stone slabs.

I think they just like the security of having an object on their back. I say this because I only see them hide where something can always touch their backs. They also flatten quite well to get into tight spots. I once thought that I was continually rescuing one of my frogs from a tight spot, until one day I watched it crawl in and out without a problem.

(It still looked squished in it's hide hole!)

Try dropping a couple of pinhead crickets in the tank to see if it draws him out. (Mine often stuff four to five full grown crickets in their mouths in one feeding!)
Zurp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 05:38 PM   #3
^iMp^
Planted Tank Obsessed