Aquaclear filter in planted tank-
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 01-23-2004, 03:33 PM   #1
fishlady
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)

I am new to planted tanks . Just started a 30 and it looks great. I presently have a 90 gallon with plastic plants that I would like to plant. It has two Aquaclear 500s on it now. I read alot of posts where you have a HOB filter and a canister. Is it possible to do a planted with 2 aquaclears or does it mess with the C02?? Thanks-
fishlady is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-23-2004, 03:55 PM   #2
Rolo
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (7/100%)

As far as CO2, you want to make sure that there is hardly any surface agitation. You can do this by cutting a AC 500 sponge to fit into the overflow outlet so that there is no waterfall. I do this for my AC 150, but am unsure how it will work for a 500 since it is much more powerful.
Old 01-23-2004, 05:24 PM   #3
ginnie5
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Send a message via MSN to ginnie5

I did cut the lip on them (not easy when they are on the tank) I run my co2 into the intake tube of one of them. Everything is doing great. I get plenty of co2 in the tank and the plants are growing and pearling. I've never done a cannister filter so I don't know if they are better but I'm happy with what I've got. It's also easy to put whatever media I want in the aquaclears.
ginnie5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2004, 05:45 PM   #4
fishlady
Planted Member