Ammonia too high for plants?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 09:09 PM   #1
Axelrod12
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Axelrod12's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 632
Default

Ammonia too high for plants?


I'm doing a fishless cycle right now and was wondering if there is a level where ammonia will start to harm plants? How much is too much?
Axelrod12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2013, 01:11 AM   #2
Axelrod12
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Axelrod12's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 632
Default

I've been doing a bunch of searching for an answer on this and found this thread in which Tom Barr provides a good answer.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=52481

It seems under 1ppm would be ideal. I also like the idea of cycling with a bucket. I don't think it will be necessary in this case though. I'll be adding a bunch more plants soon and just seeded the filter with some media from a well established filter. Should be cycled enough for shrimp in no time.
Axelrod12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 02:01 AM   #3
Axelrodi202
Planted Tank Guru
 
Axelrodi202's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Morris County, NJ
Posts: 2,334
Default

No need to cycle with heavy initial planting. However shrimp do need more established tanks than fish because of their dependence on biofilm and such
__________________
O_o
/ /_______________________________
| BWAAAH IMA FIRIHN MA LAZER!!!!!!!!!
\_\
Axelrodi202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 02:10 AM   #4
Axelrod12
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Axelrod12's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelrodi202 View Post
No need to cycle with heavy initial planting. However shrimp do need more established tanks than fish because of their dependence on biofilm and such
Yah, I didn't plant this one as heavily as usual right away. It's got a lot of growing in to do. And it will take some time, it mostly consists of crypts, ferns, anubias, and moss, all slow growers. A few stems. I will probably add some more stems soon though to help fill it in.
Axelrod12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 03:55 AM   #5
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (256/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,369
Default

Some species might melt, but many will not and will do quite well at higher ppm's of NH4. ADA As is loaded and I've not done water changes at all on new set ups just to see.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:03 PM   #6
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,441
Default

Some plants are more tolerant than others.
To grow a good bacteria colony, yet keep the ammonia lower do this:
Add enough ammonia to test 1.0 ppm.
Keep on testing and adding ammonia twice a day as needed to bring it back to 1 ppm.
This will grow almost as much bacteria as bringing it back to 3 ppm once a day, and is much easier on the plants.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012