Too much GPH for CO2?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2004, 11:12 PM   #1
alphozo
Algae Grower
 
alphozo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 47
Default

i was looking at adding a 1000 reactor to my setup (shopping for co2 systems now) and was wondering if i could hook it up to my eheim 2028 with a flow rate of 275 whereas the reactor has a rate of 250? is this gonna create a prob or cause failure in my eheim? http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...fm?pCatId=9918
alphozo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2004, 01:45 AM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Should not cause a problem at all.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2004, 01:49 AM   #3
alphozo
Algae Grower
 
alphozo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 47
Default

i sure hope not cause all of the other options are such a pain in my... i wouldnt think that the 25 gph difference would make too much of a difference but that's a lot of money down the drain if it does.

Would the aquamed 1000 hook directly up to the hoses for the eheim 2028 or is it gonna be difficult since one is metric and the other is standard?
alphozo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2004, 02:01 AM   #4
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

The hoses won't fit exactly, I just clamp the larger hose of the filter down onto the reactor barbs with some good screw type metal hose clamps. If the hose gives you a hard time stick it in some hot water to soften the end a little, then you'll be able to work with it.

Filter ratings are based on an empty canister with no media. Chances are the filter output will be far less in the real world, with media ,hose bends and barbs slowing the flow rate.

The reactor 1000 is probably the best reactor you can get. I got one on my 75. Sometimes I forget it's there because it's completely maintenance free.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2004, 02:03 AM   #5
alphozo
Algae Grower
 
alphozo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 47
Default

thanks a bunch
alphozo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012