UP aqua soil, an ADA alternative - Page 4
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 06:22 AM   #46
myhui
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plantbrain View Post
myhui, use tap for the 1st 1-2 months for the water changes if you use the ADA. Then use the RO/mix/blend thereafter.

You are just wasting the RO water otherwise for the start up phase.
I see. Thanks Tom. I just started reading your book, and have signed up for your paid forum over on the Barr Report under the same user name.

Here are two videos taken a week apart:

http://www.youtube.com/user/mmyhui/videos

The newer video doesn't look good, and now there are even fewer plants in the tank since some have died and I've had to remove them. I'm not going to add fish yet, if ever, since ammonia level is still too high, plus the plants aren't doing well.

Did I make an irreversible mistake by mixing the ADA Amazonia soil with their Power Sand at the start? (4 parts soil, 1 part sand) The plants aren't growing roots, and I suspect the soil is just too loose due to the sand in between the soil.

The tank gets 3 hours of direct sunlight every day. Is that far too much for a low tech tank still in the early stages of cycling and with not enough plants (since some plants died, not because I didn't start off with enough plants at the beginning) and no fish, hence no waste for plants to absorb?

I've started doing 1/3 water changes bi-weekly, using my own RO water. I hope I can rescue this tank, and eventually get it ready for fish.

I have ordered a bag of crushed oyster shells and plan to sprinkle them into the soil.

I'll do what I can to rescue this tank, unless you tell me the soil is simply no good since it's mixed with too much sand. At the same time, I'll start growing my Hemianthus Callitrichoides "mats" based on your thread back in 2008 on an empty acrylic tank in the same location, and eventually that'll be my main tank and I'll transfer what I can from this 60-P to there.
myhui is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2013, 07:58 PM   #47
h4n
Hobbuiness Man
 
PTrader: (672/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,751
Default

Any updates on the soil Tom?
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2013, 08:37 PM   #48
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (171/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7,567
Default

The plants may not have done well due to the new aquasoil leaching and burning the roots. a typical sign of this is seeing crypts melt. your amazon swords are exhibiting yellowing which may show sign of iron deficiency.

There's no problem mixing powersand and aquasoil as its meant to be capped. Over time with replanting and such it will tend to break through the cap. Why do you suspect a problem associated with this combination?

There a lot of algae growing on the glass so either the light intensity or duration is also a problem. There's quite a few things that need adjustment in this tank.

Quote:
Originally Posted by myhui View Post
I see. Thanks Tom. I just started reading your book, and have signed up for your paid forum over on the Barr Report under the same user name.

Here are two videos taken a week apart:

http://www.youtube.com/user/mmyhui/videos

The newer video doesn't look good, and now there are even fewer plants in the tank since some have died and I've had to remove them. I'm not going to add fish yet, if ever, since ammonia level is still too high, plus the plants aren't doing well.

Did I make an irreversible mistake by mixing the ADA Amazonia soil with their Power Sand at the start? (4 parts soil, 1 part sand) The plants aren't growing roots, and I suspect the soil is just too loose due to the sand in between the soil.

The tank gets 3 hours of direct sunlight every day. Is that far too much for a low tech tank still in the early stages of cycling and with not enough plants (since some plants died, not because I didn't start off with enough plants at the beginning) and no fish, hence no waste for plants to absorb?

I've started doing 1/3 water changes bi-weekly, using my own RO water. I hope I can rescue this tank, and eventually get it ready for fish.

I have ordered a bag of crushed oyster shells and plan to sprinkle them into the soil.

I'll do what I can to rescue this tank, unless you tell me the soil is simply no good since it's mixed with too much sand. At the same time, I'll start growing my Hemianthus Callitrichoides "mats" based on your thread back in 2008 on an empty acrylic tank in the same location, and eventually that'll be my main tank and I'll transfer what I can from this 60-P to there.
__________________
The Aquatic Plant Society Curator of the NY/NJ/CT LFS & CO2 Directory
Namaste ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
acitydweller is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 04:30 AM   #49
DaveFish
Planted Member
 
DaveFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 204
Default

Yo, Tom This is way off subject, but I noticed you posted so I thought I would catch your attention. I have someone telling me that, Co2, lighting, ferts are not really the underlying reasons behind algae control. They said, " Good plant growth suppresses the algae, but it isn't really the plant growth doing it." So some underlying factor that is really doing it? They said we focus way too much on Co2,lighting and ferts and not enough on water movement and filtration. They said those are the real factors in algae control and that algae shouldn't be seen as the enemy. Which I don't believe it is. All of the methods we use to keep algae at bay are supposedly the superficial ways and not really addressing the true reason on how to keep it at bay or why it is being kept at bay. I know you are an algae expert so is this true? Some of it not all of it. Any articles that you could point me towards. Ecology/carbon cycle/bacteria etc... The more in depth and scientific the better. I am searching for the truth. Thanks, Dave.





Quote:
Originally Posted by plantbrain View Post
Well,

I've redone so many ADA AS tanks and I can tell you, this stuff is far better and makes MUCH less mess if you redo or reuse anything. Clarity is better etc.
If you uproot, you do not get nearly as much haze afterwards. I've tried many tricks to avoid the haze and the muck, but the Up Aqua stuff has not had even 1/4 the issues.
__________________
Keep your sleeves wet!
DaveFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 05:13 AM   #50
FlyingHellFish
Wannabe Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,663
Default

^ I read that too, it's more focus on the beneficial bacteria. Like having a really good colony of them.

It's a long read, yeah.
FlyingHellFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2013, 04:16 PM   #51
SevenportsJohn
Sponsor
 
SevenportsJohn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: California
Posts: 273
Send a message via Skype™ to SevenportsJohn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h4n View Post
Any updates on the soil Tom?
You can get the soil now through www.greenleafaquariums.com
__________________

SevenportsJohn is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2013, 07:17 PM   #52
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

I'm having trouble finding it on their website. What's it listed under?
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2013, 07:31 PM   #53
Couesfanatic
Wannabe Guru
 
Couesfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,652
Default

search soil on their home page.
__________________

Last edited by Couesfanatic; 12-20-2013 at 07:18 AM.. Reason: autocorrect
Couesfanatic is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2013, 11:00 PM   #54
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (253/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,105
Default

It's pretty costly unfortunately.
As much if not more than ADA.
Till that's addressed, it's going to be tough to sell.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2013, 03:26 PM   #55
datsunissan28
Algae Grower
 
datsunissan28's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 90
Default

I had been holding out for this for some time. It ends up being within a few dollars with shipping between Up Aqua Sand from GLA and Aqual Soil from AFA for 3-5 bags. I also live in Ohio so shipping from AFA is ridiculous.

The UP Aqua Sand is 5 kg and the Aqua Soil is 9 liters, so I was wondering which would provide more coverage as they are measuring weight vs volume.
datsunissan28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2013, 03:39 PM   #56
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,353
Default

GreenLeaf would do us a big favor if they would put the volume of soil in each 5 kg bag on their website. We use substrate by volume, not by weight.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2013, 05:40 PM   #57
SevenportsJohn
Sponsor
 
SevenportsJohn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: California
Posts: 273
Send a message via Skype™ to SevenportsJohn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
GreenLeaf would do us a big favor if they would put the volume of soil in each 5 kg bag on their website. We use substrate by volume, not by weight.
A bag of Aqua Sand is about 8-9 liters. It isn't labeled that but that is about what it comes out to.
__________________

SevenportsJohn is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2013, 12:48 AM   #58
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
GreenLeaf would do us a big favor if they would put the volume of soil in each 5 kg bag on their website. We use substrate by volume, not by weight.

It is on their website...."Size: 9L, 22lbs"

http://greenleafaquariums.com/plante...substrate.html


Although the item is still listed as out of stock
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2013, 03:41 AM   #59
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (253/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,105
Default

It looks better than ADA AS.

If the price is less than ADA AS, then you have something, but if it's near 39.99 for 9 liter volume..........

I can weigh both bags and measure the volume also, I have bags of each sitting here.

It looks like the Mr Aqua is less than the ADA AS 9 liter bag.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2013, 04:16 AM   #60
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UDGags View Post
It is on their website...."Size: 9L, 22lbs"

http://greenleafaquariums.com/plante...substrate.html


Although the item is still listed as out of stock
That doesn't make sense, because 22 lb is almost 10 kg.

Trying to do research on how much 9L of ADA AS weighs and it's hard to find something conclusive, though most of what I found was significantly more than 5kg.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012