Is 0 ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite bad for the planted tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2013, 05:43 PM   #1
Wojo77
Algae Grower
 
Wojo77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf coast
Posts: 45
Default

Is 0 ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite bad for the planted tank?


So is it bad to have constant 0's when it comes to Nitrite and Nitrate? I test every week and they are always at 0. I think this is causing my java fern to yellow on its older leaves due to nitrogen deficiency. Would I be correct in thinking this?
Wojo77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2013, 07:52 PM   #2
jeepguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
jeepguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: newjersey
Posts: 711
Default

Nitrate should be around 10-15 for plants. Are you shaking the second nitrate bottle vigorously? If not it will read zero.
Do you have fish in there?
__________________
jeepguy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2013, 09:37 PM   #3
Wojo77
Algae Grower
 
Wojo77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf coast
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy View Post
Nitrate should be around 10-15 for plants. Are you shaking the second nitrate bottle vigorously? If not it will read zero.
Do you have fish in there?
Yes I shake it for a full timed minute like the direction s say to. And yes I have 9 blue tetras and a dwarf gouarami in the tank. I test the water every Monday and do a 25% WC. Should I just do less of a WC so it can build up? Or add water from my non planted cichlid tank when I change it (That tank is usually at 40 - 80)?
Wojo77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2013, 04:22 AM   #4
algarciajr
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 79
Default

I add water from my non planted cichlid tank to my planted tanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wojo77 View Post
Or add water from my non planted cichlid tank when I change it (That tank is usually at 40 - 80)?
algarciajr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2013, 04:31 AM   #5
bitFUUL
Wannabe Guru
 
bitFUUL's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grolando
Posts: 1,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by algarciajr View Post
I add water from my non planted cichlid tank to my planted tanks.
Yup. Sounds like your bioload is plant heavy. Add more fish or maybe water changes aren't needed as often. Good luck!
__________________

[50g][30g][18g][12g][11.4g][7.5g][7.13g][5.5g][4.1g][3g] - [grow][pond]
bitFUUL is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2013, 04:21 PM   #6
shambhalove.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wojo77 View Post
Yes I shake it for a full timed minute like the direction s say to
Besides shaking the test tube for a minute make sure that you are shaking the nitrate #2 bottle for at least 30 seconds.
__________________
shambhalove. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2013, 07:34 PM   #7
Wojo77
Algae Grower
 
Wojo77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf coast
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shambhalove. View Post
Besides shaking the test tube for a minute make sure that you are shaking the nitrate #2 bottle for at least 30 seconds.
Yes I shake that for a full minute also. I'm fairly certain that my plants are eating everything up because I added a quart of water from my 55 gallon that had 80+ ppm nitrate 2 days ago and when I tested the water this morning I got all 0's again. So this time I added 2 quarts of the 80+ ppm water and I will test in 12,24, and 36 hours to see how fast it is cleared to 0.
Wojo77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2013, 04:53 PM   #8
shambhalove.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 268
Default

How big is the tank? Adding a quart of fertilized water to anything over maybe couple gallons is just going to dilute and not show up on your nitrate test.
__________________
shambhalove. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2013, 05:40 PM   #9
Wojo77
Algae Grower
 
Wojo77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf coast
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shambhalove. View Post
How big is the tank? Adding a quart of fertilized water to anything over maybe couple gallons is just going to dilute and not show up on your nitrate test.
It is a 6 gallon edge. How much water do you think I should try? A gallon? More?
Wojo77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2013, 06:30 PM   #10
shambhalove.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 268
Default

I think you should use real fertilizers, not old tank water. That way you can add what you need in the correct ratios. Keep in mind your plants need a lot more than just nitrates.
__________________
shambhalove. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012