Filter question AC 500
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2004, 07:40 PM   #1
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

So I setup my new XP3 filstar along with the AC 500. The AC 500 is causing my plants to blow over not just a little but a lot, so I was going to drop down to the AC 300, but that won't fit on the 75 gal tank. So now I am at loss what I should do? Leave the AC 500, which makes things look really bad in the tank, or just use the canister? Are there any other HOB filters that would fit a 75, and not be loud? If you recall I sent my emperor 400s back because they were to loud. I was thinking maybe one of the larger whisper filters would fit, but I had one before and it was really loud. LFS starting to hate me, buy and return, buy and return. hahaha
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2004, 07:48 PM   #2
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Maybe try turning down the flow on the AC500 by twisting the inlet tube. That way you retain the large filter media capacity but reduce the overall flowrate.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 07:51 PM   #3
quilaho
Algae Grower
 
quilaho's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: new ulm, mn
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GulfCoastAquarian
Maybe try turning down the flow on the AC500 by twisting the inlet tube. That way you retain the large filter media capacity but reduce the overall flowrate.
that's what i do on my 55.

does he really need both?? won't the xp3 be adequate in a planted tank???
quilaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 07:57 PM   #4
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

The tank is not planted. Only fake plants. How do you twist the tube and not crack the plastic, not clear on what your saying? If you mean have the flow rate turned down to low, I have done that already no help. I think it has to do with the fact the 75 not a very high tank maybe? If I just run the AC 500 there is like no movment of water on the side with no filter. This is just a community tank, but it will be heavly stocked.
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:03 PM   #5
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,092
Default

The XP3 is rated for up to 175 gallon tanks. That is a little optimistic, especially for planted tanks, but for a non-planted 75 gal tank it should be sufficient to start with... I would just disconnect the AC500 for now.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:28 PM   #6
quilaho
Algae Grower
 
quilaho's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: new ulm, mn
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
How do you twist the tube and not crack the plastic, not clear on what your saying?
on the top of the filter you will find a knob sort of thing that con be moved 1/2" in either direction. move it to the right to reduce the flow.
quilaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:30 PM   #7
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Yep did that does not fix the problem.
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:31 PM   #8
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken
The tank is not planted. Only fake plants. How do you twist the tube and not crack the plastic, not clear on what your saying? If you mean have the flow rate turned down to low, I have done that already no help.
Yep, turn down the flow rate. And it's still too much? Just disconnect the AC500, really. The XP3 is all you need.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:58 PM   #9
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Thank you all for the advise. XP3 filstar it is then, going to take the AC 500 back.

Thanks again for all the help
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 09:36 PM   #10
2la
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
2la's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 993
Default

Why wouldn't an AC 300 fit? Isn't it smaller than an AC 500? Just curious.
2la is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 11:50 PM   #11
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

The ac 300 won't fit over the trim on the top of the tank. So it won't stay in place
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 02:39 PM   #12
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

Yeah, the AC 300 isn't 'deep' enough so it can't go over the lip of larger tanks.

I think the XP3 is MORE than enough for your 75. I run an XP2 on my heavily planted 75, and have no problems with dirty water, fishy smell, etc.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D. E./Magnum filter Question? Andyfarmerboy Equipment 6 07-24-2004 01:29 AM
Eheim filter question aychamo Equipment 14 06-29-2004 04:56 PM
Filter or not filter - That is the question louisxyz General Planted Tank Discussion 23 05-07-2004 05:21 PM
Undergravel filter and large rock question. oe254 Equipment 18 01-02-2004 03:07 AM
Filter Question ljezuit Equipment 12 02-14-2003 02:03 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012