Ball Python Vivarium/Terrarium
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium

Old 09-04-2013, 01:48 AM   #1
PhatJared

PTrader: (0/0%)

Ball Python Vivarium/Terrarium

Hey everyone, I'm new here and I'd like to get some opinions on a terrarium design I've been brewing for a few months. I've got an 85 gallon I plan to use for my 5 foot female ball python, and I really want it to feel natural. I'm talking small decomposing insects, the natural bacteria, etc.

The substrate I want to use is a natural red-orange from a local location to mimic the Ghana soil look. To top it off, I'm going to have some west African grasses and I was wondering if watering and lighting will be enough for the grass, given the soil is properly set up with a drainage layer.

My first step should be the base layer, I grabbed a big bag of clay pebbles to make a false bottom. Based on what I've read, I should have some sort of cloth barrier between that and the soil.

My questions are, how should I go about making the soil I collect safe for my snake? And say I have a huge piece of drift wood...Could I just pour boiling water over it a few times over?

I know this is a lot for a first post, but it's something I've been planning for a while. Any advice would be greatly appreciated
PhatJared is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2013, 04:09 AM   #2
PhatJared

Everyone loves pictures, so here's the tank with the center piece
Old 09-06-2013, 08:11 PM   #3
the_deeb
Planted Member

PTrader: (5/100%)

This sounds like a nice idea in principle but from my experience with ball pythons it seems like it will be problematic.