Need some advice please
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 08-29-2013, 04:25 PM   #1
av3ngeme
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Need some advice please

Alright I'm going to be as thorough as I can possibly be. I'm fairly new to plants, I have I guess what you would consider a high tech tank. Dimensions are 48" long x 24" deep x 16" wide (80 gallon tank) My light source is a T5HO quad bulb which sits approximately 3" from the water surface. There is no lid on the tank so it's open top (due too how the lights sit) Right now I am running just 2 bulbs, one being a grow light @ 6700k and another T5HO daylight bulb @ 6500k as I was told anymore than this is overkill based on the PAR rating. I am using a Red Sea CO2 kit, injecting co2 at approximately 2bps, a fluval dropchecker for monitoring levels at the opposite end of the tank from the red sea reactor using the 4dkh solution NOT tank water.

When I first set this up I read A LOT, now unfortunately there is A LOT of conflicting information out there and what I can only assume to be blatent mis-information as well. I have been told and I have read that Ph swings from Co2 injection are not harmful to fish, I have to say I call BS on this as when I was turning my lights on and Co2 on first thing in the morning (6:30am) and shutting it off at night ( 9pm approx) I was losing 1-2 fish A DAY, when I would wake up in the morning I would find a fish or two dead....without fail, every morning. Generally they would only be tetras, so I attributed it too angels picking on them....then I started losing corys, ottos, and angels as well, then I noticed the angels gills turning red and one getting popeye, and the final straw was losing a 3 year old clown loach to popeye...I was pretty upset about that.