Can an undergravel filter work for a planted tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 01-13-2004, 06:04 PM   #1
Hoosch
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via MSN to Hoosch

I'm sure it's pretty apparent from the subject heading that I'm a newbie to a planted aquarium. I had been told in the past that an undergravel filter is not good to use with a planted tank, but have since heard that it's not really that bad.
I'm attempting to set up a 75 gallon tank as a planted tank. I have a CO2 system and everything I need to set up an undergravel filter (including multiple powerheads and bio-wheels (which I've attached to my undergravel filter in the past)). I currently only have regular flourescent lights, but plan to purchase compact flourescents. And I plan to use Laterite (or Flourite or something similar). Since I have already spent plenty of money on my powerheads, bio-wheels, and undergravel filter plates, I'd of course rather use that set-up than have to buy a canister filter and put my current set-up on the shelf.
At this point I have no idea what plants I wish to purchase.
Actually, I've got many questions at this point, but I guess I'll start with the undergravel filter question.
Hoosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-13-2004, 06:48 PM   #2
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (6/100%)
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian