GE Silicone II
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2013, 09:03 PM   #1
Braga92
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 30
Default

GE Silicone II


My tank had leaked and i had to reseal it. A friend of mine convinced me to buy silicone from HD and return the aquarium silicone i bought. My baby fish are dying and my adults dont look too good. I guess Silicone II has anti mold agents in it that i didnt know about. Question is, will it kill plants too? Is my substrate and everything in the tank contaminated and un-reusable? Thanks
Braga92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2013, 09:25 PM   #2
Dolfan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Dolfan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 344
Default

I guess you learned the hard way, but always use only aquarium safe silicone. The silicone like you used has those chemicals in it, that are designed to kill stuff like mold, algae, etc. It will take some work, but I think your tank is salvageable. It's hard to tell without waiting to see what happens, the plants may live but probably be badly affected with some melting, death, or severe wilting. The fish will probably slowly die, they may live but suffer a lot and be stressed which may lead to death on down the line.

I would first start by tearing down your tank and removing all décor, plants, etc. The fish could live in a large, clean, 5 gallon bucket for a few days. If you can install your filter on the bucket, great if not, may need to do daily water changes. Thoroughly clean and rinse all décor, plants, etc. and maybe soak in clean uncontaminated water for a day or so. While everything is out of the tank, I would remove any of the GE Silicone II that you used. A good utility knife will help cut and trim out any of that silicone. Once any of the possible bad silicone is removed, clean out the tank well, rinsing thoroughly. Then reseal what is needed with aquarium safe silicone. Let it cure and dry well. Then you should be able to set your tank up. You may want to do a water change daily for the first week, just to be sure any leftover residue or contaminates are gone.

Hope this helps and good luck.
Dolfan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2013, 09:45 PM   #3
Braga92
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 30
Default

Thank you for your reply. Is my eco complete contaminated aswell? Rinsing will help rid of the chemicals? Honestly, i feel like a failure and dont even really want to redo the silicone and trash the tank. I uprooted all the plants and placed them in a bucket with lots of liquid ferts and the light fixture on it. I think its too late for the fish but if i can save the plants, i may restart the tank. I spent well over 60$ in plants to make it the way i want it to look and its completely devastating knowing you did something completely preventable that did more harm than good. Id be a little uneasy redoing the silicone. How potent is the GE II? If i happend to accidently leave traces of the silicone somewhere in a crack, will it still leach out? Im just nervous. i dont know. Any help on what you think i should do to save the plants more? I rinsed them off and they were in the tank for around 7 hours.
Braga92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2013, 10:09 PM   #4
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default

The plants will probably be okay, as well as the substrate once it is rinsed thoroughly. Fish might be done for though, still worth a shot to try to save them. Your filters may need to be cycled again due to the antimicrobial properties of the GE 2. However, GE silicone 1 is safe for aquariums. Once you cut all the GE 2 out, and the GE 1 is cured, you shouldn't have to worry about any leeching from the previous silicone.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2013, 10:43 PM   #5
meppitech
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
meppitech's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 406
Default

GE I is safe +1
meppitech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2013, 10:56 PM   #6
Braga92
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 30
Default

Awesome. Thank you guys. Another issue though. im tearing the tank down right now. Im scooping out the substrate when i realized theres root tabs (osmocote) within the substrate. I know its bad getting that stuff in the water column. But i have to scoop everything out. If i rinse the substrate like i will do, will it remove the osmocote?
Braga92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2013, 04:59 AM   #7
djjcoleman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SoCal, United States
Posts: 68
Default

So long as the animals are safely in a different tank, ozmocote in the water column shouldn't be an issue. Why is it "bad" in the water column? http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=396858

Rinsing the substrate should remove it. You'd have to fertilize the substrate after the tank is set up again.
djjcoleman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2013, 06:56 PM   #8
FuelingFire
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 61
Default

GE silicon 1 window and doors clear is safe... I used it for my 3d background in my 55, and it's been running over a year and is fine. no fish loss. Just make sure it is cured before adding water.. but it is the same as the stuff you buy at the LFS. it's 100% silicone. GE just can't say it is safe for aquariums due to potential lawsuit with the other company. But it does work.. Just make sure it is doesn't have mold or mildew protection.
FuelingFire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2013, 11:03 PM   #9
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,287
Default

As you are rinsing and stirring the substrate you will probably find most of the Osmocote. Set these aside and it is probably just fine to reuse them, but they are cheap enough simply to throw away, too.

If, when you set up the tank again, you see a few remnants of the Osmocote near the surface, I would just poke it down as deep as you can under the substrate.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2013, 11:41 PM   #10
Braga92
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks guys. I resealed it with Silicone 1. Seems as though everythings working. No dead fish. Fish died though. And plants got a bit weak but for the most part, theyre still alive! Very thankful. Lesson learned..
Braga92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2013, 12:29 AM   #11
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braga92 View Post
Thanks guys. I resealed it with Silicone 1. Seems as though everythings working. No dead fish. Fish died though. And plants got a bit weak but for the most part, theyre still alive! Very thankful. Lesson learned..
I just resealed 2 tanks using the silicone 1, stuff is potent smelling. How long did you let it cure before you put fish back in?
__________________
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2013, 01:29 AM   #12
MChambers
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 261
Default Depends

Quote:
Originally Posted by tattooedfool83 View Post
I just resealed 2 tanks using the silicone 1, stuff is potent smelling. How long did you let it cure before you put fish back in?
Silicone cures fastest under warm, humid conditions, surprisingly. You should wait at least 24 hours, and longer if the conditions are cool and dry.
MChambers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2013, 03:14 AM   #13
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MChambers View Post
Silicone cures fastest under warm, humid conditions, surprisingly. You should wait at least 24 hours, and longer if the conditions are cool and dry.
I waited 3 days on 1 tank and 4 on the other. I was just wondering how long he waited to fill. I actually have 1 tank I resealed sitting full of water in my driveway for over a day now. Ill let it sit full until Monday before I move it into the house and set it up
__________________
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2013, 03:25 AM   #14
flight50
Wannabe Guru
 
flight50's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: dfw
Posts: 1,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tattooedfool83 View Post
I just resealed 2 tanks using the silicone 1, stuff is potent smelling. How long did you let it cure before you put fish back in?
Its really not an issue when you reseal in a well ventilated area. It does have a very strong vinegar odor I will admit. A least have a fan pushing the odor away helps. I let mine set for a minimal of 24 hrs before I even look at it. I don't water test it until a week later though.

To the OP, you definitely learned the hard way. That's a rookie mistake for ya, lol. Your not alone though. Many others have done it. I haven't but I saw many threads on the subject prior to me having to reseal my own tank so I know better.
__________________
Eheim Pimp #509
FINNEX CLUB MEMBER#31
The Fraternity of Dirt #146

Builds - DIY Quad Stands









Tanks - low tech 29g
flight50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2013, 04:57 AM   #15
Braga92
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 30
Default

I waited about 36 hours to fill the tank up. The stuff was potent. Like I felt the hairs in my nose being burned when a strong wiff came up. It was bad. I had to hold my breath when i was sealing it on the bottom. I knew that there was some silicone that wasnt good for aquariums but i went with my friend to home depot and he chose the kind that was cheaper. He convinced me because it still said 100% silicone on the bottle.
Braga92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012