re quarantine tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2004, 03:30 AM   #1
mousey
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 116
Default

If you remove your fish from the main tank to treat for something how do you keep the bio filter alive in it? If you treat the fish in that tank , again how do you keep the bio filter alive or do you just have to recycle the tank again?

mousey
mousey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2004, 03:48 AM   #2
Bronx19
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 69
Default

Ive wondered this too, escpecially when raising fish eggs.

I had the impression you could just do small daily water changes.
Bronx19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 12:28 PM   #3
Zurp
Planted Member
 
Zurp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 292
Default

I can't imagine that you would want a full running quarantine tank. The last thing you want is for some sickness to reproduce in the bio-filter, and infect any following visitors to that tank. I think that I also read that certain treatments will kill bio-filters, and some treatments can be rendered useless by things like AMMO, and ACTIVATED CHARCOAL.

I think they recommended that quarantine tanks should only have fresh water directly from your running tank and a bubbler/cotton filter. Where the cotton can be thrown away after. Bio will establish any-where ammonia is present in the water, and your quarantine already has loose bio from your existing tank that you removed the fish from.
__________________
20Gal. Long (Green-House) and 55Gal. Tall (Primary Tank)
4 Fire-Belly Toads, 2 Fire-Belly Newts,
2 Giant Black Millipedes, 1 Grey Tiger Salamander
Zurp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 01:58 PM   #4
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

That is how I run my quarantine. When it is needed, I drop 10G of water from the 75G. Fill the little 10G quarantine aquarium, and then add a bubble filter. When I am done, I toss the cotton, then disinfect the aquarium and filter.

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 02:08 PM   #5
anonapersona
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mousey
If you remove your fish from the main tank to treat for something how do you keep the bio filter alive in it? If you treat the fish in that tank , again how do you keep the bio filter alive or do you just have to recycle the tank again?

mousey
Typically if one fish is ill, you remove it to a Q tank, even 2 if the Q tank can support them. If a large fraction of the tank is sick or more than the Q tank can hold, then you treat the tank. Sometimes this may kill the biofilter, depending on what you have to use. You would want to try to somehow preserve the biofilter if possible, or locate BioSpira to re-start the tank.

If you had to treat the whole tank with something like that, you might put the biofilter in the Q tank and feed it small amounts of ammonia to keep it going. I've never doen that, and I have no idea whoe much ammonia that could require, or rather how little ammonia for I suspect you would want the minimum. One source said to feed the filter fish food, same amount as you feed the fish, as it decays into the same products without the fish inbetween.

And in the Q tank, we do lots and lots of water changes, so weak biofilters should not be much of an issue.
anonapersona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 04:23 PM   #6
Fat Guy
Wannabe Guru
 
Fat Guy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new york, new york
Posts: 1,467
Default

When treating an entir tank, I pull out the filter media and put it in a bucket with some of the tank water and run an airline/power head in the bucket to keep the water moving. This should help keep most of the valuable bacteria on the filter media alive long enough for the tank to be treated.

Once the tank is fully treated, I do a large, 50% water change and put the old filter media back in the filter along with some activated carbon to remove the meds.
__________________
Fat Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 01:39 AM   #7
Seamaiden
Algae Grower
 
Seamaiden's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Orange County, CA
Posts: 46
Default

Oh my goodness, you folks prefer to treat the display??? 8O
Seamaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 03:43 AM   #8
anonapersona
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seamaiden
Oh my goodness, you folks prefer to treat the display??? 8O
Of course not! We prefer to never have sick fish in the first place.

I have 31 tetras, 6 cories, and 5 kuhlies in my biggest tank, plus I dont know how many otos (8?) and over a dozen shrimp. If one fish gets sick, I probably won't see it until things are pretty bad, and if whatever it is is contageous, then the whole tank will probably have it. Even if I knew one of the fish had a problem, I'm not sure I could catch it even if I did notice it. Heck, all the cardinals look alike and there's 25 of them. I doubt I could catch a kuhlie loach in a planted tank, sick or not. Three of the five that are in there were moved from the 20 gallon after I had taken out all of the plants and a lot of the gravel, sly little guys.

Really, the source of the illness is important. One fish may be ill from a mechanical injury, or getting bitten or something, or the whole tank may be stressed by something and only one is ill but the rest are pretty near it. So, the tank might actually need treatment.

So, for me, netting out a sick fish or 5 is not all that likely to happen in that tank. And 5 or a few more is all I could hold in the 10 gallon barebottomed Q tank anyhow.

My Q tank is much more often used for quarantine for new fish than it is used for sick fish. Personally, I've never had to treat a big planted tank for anything yet.
anonapersona is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40 Breeder tank journal (56k warning) jcgd Tank Journals 32 11-07-2004 03:41 PM
Log of Cherry Shrimp Chat gnatster Shrimp & Other Invertebrates 2 09-19-2004 08:59 PM
Lighting for the odd size tank anonapersona Lighting 23 10-09-2003 09:45 PM
Vinlo's 30g (56k) - Updated Vinlo Tank Journals 8 05-19-2003 12:50 AM
New Tank / Question Can you help/pics enclosed Angel12 General Planted Tank Discussion 8 04-28-2003 11:26 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012