Diatom filter experiences?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2007, 04:36 AM   #1
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Diatom filter experiences?


OK,

So I finally found a used Magnum 350 canister filter and micron catridge, spilit a box of DE powder with a fellow hobbyist, and am running it on my 10 gallon "pea-soup" tank.

How long does it take for a tank that small to clear up? Here are some pre-filter pics:









The Magnum 350 has been running for about 6 hours and it's still pretty darn green. I added a little more than 1/2 cup of DE powder since I thought it'd work faster.

Anyone have any opinions?

Thanks.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2007, 05:27 AM   #2
Rod Hay
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 449
Default

There is usually a special procedure to 'charge' the micron cartridge with the D.E. powder to use it as a diatom filter. How did you apply the D.E. powder?
Rod Hay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 05:33 AM   #3
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Had a container of water then added the 1/2 cup of DE powder. Stuck the intake and outflow tubes into the container and ran the filter until the water turned clear. Then I just turned off the quick disconnects, moved the intake and outflow to my tank, then turned the quick disconnects back on.

It's clearing up, but much more slowly than others have reported...or maybe my tank just has a really bad case of green water? Or does the filter not work well since it's used? Too much DE powder?...etc.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:09 PM   #4
yoink
Wannabe Guru
 
yoink's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,981
Default

It should clear a ten gallon in about an hour unless some of the water is bypassing the media. I had the same problem when I was missing a gasket. You should have 3 total.
yoink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 01:43 AM   #5
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Just cleaned it out. Seems like I had a *lot* of DE powder. Checked the filter. No tear. Just moved all the gaskets around and checked them. Started it up again with 1/4 cup of DE powder this time. We'll see what happens!

I have two gaskets on top of the micron catridge where the lid attaches, one underneath the cartridge, and one small one for the return tube to the outflow.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:30 AM   #6
yoink
Wannabe Guru
 
yoink's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,981
Default

Mine goes gasket, micron cartridge, gasket, black center tube thing, gasket, then top. Not sure if that is what you are talking about.
yoink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 04:57 AM   #7
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

In your Magnum 350?

From the bottom up, I have 2 gaskets, micron cartridge, gasket, and the black center tube thing is stuck to the top.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 05:02 AM   #8
danepatrick
Wannabe Guru
 
danepatrick's Avatar
 
PTrader: (46/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: baton rouge, la
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via AIM to danepatrick
Default

i wouldn't EVER waste my money on one of these things again. UV sterilizers ALL THE WAY. just my 2 cents.
__________________
"Some of the worst things imaginable have been done with the best intentions." - Jurassic Park
danepatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 05:26 AM   #9
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Yea. About to get a UV sterilizer and get some PVC tubing to make a "HOB"-DiabloCanine style one.

I figure I could use the Magnum to do some polishing now and then. Not working out so well.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 05:47 AM   #10
danepatrick
Wannabe Guru
 
danepatrick's Avatar
 
PTrader: (46/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: baton rouge, la
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via AIM to danepatrick
Default

no, i don't think. lol. just a big mess and PITA. if you have a canister filter, i'd recommend just using some tubing and mounting that SOB in your stand. much easier. when you're ready to use, plug it up and go.

__________________
"Some of the worst things imaginable have been done with the best intentions." - Jurassic Park
danepatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 07:35 AM   #11
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Figure this might go better in the Equipment forum. If any mods see this, can you please move it?

I figure if the gaskets are leaking or something and the water is bypassing the micron cartridge, I'd get diatom powder leaking into the tank, but I don't...so I doubt it's a torn filter or leaky gasket...right?
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 08:21 PM   #12
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Man, I don't know what I did, but I took it all apart and re-assembled it.

CRYSTAL CLEAR.

I setup my 40 gal. tank yesterday and used the diatom filter on that too. Crystal clear after 4 hours. Wow.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 11:20 PM   #13
Georgiadawgger
Planted Tank Guru
 
Georgiadawgger's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, VA (Near the Pentagon)
Posts: 2,416
Default

Nice aren't they--when it works I've been using a Vortex Freedom for a few years for spot cleaning or when I really dig around...never had GW (knock on wood)...for that you need to find the root cause rather than employing a temporary solution. These filters (like a UV) are a luxary...not a necessity.
__________________
40g AGA Breeder: Pimp# 44: Eheim 2026; Anti- Filstar; CLTT UV; 3 wpg PC, pressurized CO2. GATA! FTD!!!
Georgiadawgger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 05:57 AM   #14
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

The problem was that I did a major re-planting and stirred up my substrate.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 12:13 PM   #15
tazcrash69
Planted Tank Guru
 
tazcrash69's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epicfish View Post
The problem was that I did a major re-planting and stirred up my substrate.
Yea, I've done that. Now every major substrate disturbance is follwed by a 75% WC. That seems to have helped me.
__________________
Walter
Visit my 125 profile and gallery or my 5 gallon low-tech. Proud member of:


--May the floor under your tank always be dry, and your glass clear!!!
tazcrash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012