Some general ideas about planted tanks
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 08-08-2013, 03:12 PM   #1
novitt
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Some general ideas about planted tanks

Hi, I am new to the forum but old to the hobby. I've been keeping a planted tank for close to 20 years now. I've had some of my plants almost that long, individual plants that survived for 16 or 17 years.

My first planted tanks were before the internet was a big deal. I had a 55 set up in an apartment with a "plant filter" that was plants growing emersed by a window in a separate sump tank. I also had plants in the tank with no filter.

After this I had another 55 tank in a loft apartment, with huge windows and lots of sun. Now this would be called a lot tech tank but then it was pretty high tech. Had six t8 lamps in a hood I made myself and DIY substrate heating I made by forcing narrow wire into silicon tubing a doing a lot of math. This tank ran for about 4 years.

After this I moved to caretake a house and threw all my plants, substrate and fish into a small backyard pond where they did great. For what it's worth that substrate came from the famous internet faliure pets.com, the one with the sock puppet. I had about 300# of it shipped to me for free. No wonder they failed.

When I bought my house 12 years ago the first thing I did was set up my current 75 setup with T5 lighting, high pressure co2 and, again, no filter. I have Dupla substrate heating and all the plumbing is located in the basement.

After having this tank up for 11 years I took it down to redo it. The substrate had become very clogged with mulum and couldn't be cleaned, it'd turned into a nutrient sink and the Java moss became uncontrollable. After 11 years I figured, time for a redo.