Shrimp Statum and German Rams?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2013, 03:28 AM   #1
ProduceGuy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 140
Default

Shrimp Statum and German Rams?


Hi,

I have a tank that is currently a shrimp tank but am considering converting it to fish.

It currently has a Fluval Shrimp Stratum Substrate which keeps the pH low (about 6.5). I do water changes with remineralized RO/DI water.

It also has live plants, driftwood and cholla.

Would this be suitable for a pair of German Blue Rams?

I'm mostly concerned about the FSS substrate and whether that would be ok for them?

Thanks!
ProduceGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-08-2013, 02:10 AM   #2
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

What do u mean by "remineralized"?

Picture of cholla?

I wouldn't worry about changing tap water too much, but definitely have it HEAVILY planted and lush. The only issue would probably be water temp, GBRs like it warm (80+), some plants and wildlife do not.

IMO - Floating plants and driftwood would be more ideal for GBRs.
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:29 AM   #3
ProduceGuy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirstoND View Post
What do u mean by "remineralized"?

Picture of cholla?

I wouldn't worry about changing tap water too much, but definitely have it HEAVILY planted and lush. The only issue would probably be water temp, GBRs like it warm (80+), some plants and wildlife do not.

IMO - Floating plants and driftwood would be more ideal for GBRs.

I add Salty's Minerals G+ to RO water until the proper TDS is reached.

Cholla Wood pics can be found online really easy. I don't have any pics myself.
ProduceGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:41 PM   #4
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,564
Default

My pH is 6 most of the time and my gbr do fine. It probably drops down in the 5.5 range but can't test that low.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
gus6464 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012