New 30 Gal tank no Substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2004, 02:05 AM   #1
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

Hi,

I just started my 30 Gal tank and I put some fine gravel, no substrate though.. Should I remove the gravel and put substrate and then gravel..

If the answer is yesl... what is the easiest way to do this.. do I have to empty the tank competely.. I already started a fishless cycle..

Thanks
Omar
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2004, 12:23 PM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Gravel = substrate.

Fishless cycle = waste of time on a planted tank.

Read my FAQ.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 01:17 PM   #3
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

Hi Rex,

You say in your faq that the gravel you find in stores is not good.. well thats what I got.. but the one I got is a bit finer.. its about 3-4mm in diameter.. do you think it will be fine
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 01:50 AM   #4
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

IMHO that's a bit on the large size. Is it the coated stuff? I hate the coated stuff. If you tell me where you live I might be able to suggest other sources of substrates.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 04:08 PM   #5
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

I am in central jersey
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 05:57 PM   #6
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Ok, head down to the BORG and see what kind of sand they carry. Read my FAQ again. If the BORG doesn't have decent sand try an industrial supply house.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 06:19 PM   #7
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

First of all, gravel can equal substrate. Substrate is simply a nutritional source and what you anchor your plants into. I'm using regular gravel in a few planted tanks with great success. It allows good flow through the roots while still providing an easy anchor for plants.
The only problem, as I see it, with ordinary fine gravel is that it is inert and will provide no nutrient storage capacity. You could supplement your gravel with Laterite, Flourite, Shultz Aquatic Soil (from Lowe's) or Root Tabs. What color is your gravel? That's going to dictate, to a great extent, what substrate enhancer you might want to mix in.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 08:03 PM   #8
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

My gravel is white with a little black dispersed here and there
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 08:29 PM   #9
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Laterite and Shultz Aquatic Soil are both very light colored (grayish, if anything) so they might be able to mesh well with your existing gravel. Since the tank is new and hasn't even completed cycling, I personally would just tear it down and pick the right color gravel/sand to go with the substrate enhancer or at least layer it on top.
White isn't easy to pull off, it can make fish and plants appear to be washed out, but done right I suppose it can look pretty good.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reef Tank Conversion - Concerns and Questions Silent Running General Planted Tank Discussion 18 10-04-2004 01:14 PM
Converting fish tank to plant tank, without moving fish... Mori General Planted Tank Discussion 18 06-10-2004 02:50 PM
Substrate for 50 gallon SEMI Planted tank Anonymous Substrate 2 02-20-2004 02:18 AM
Substrate question/looking to switch to planted tank. Broken Substrate 3 02-17-2004 08:11 PM
An inexpensive planted tank! Wasserpest General Planted Tank Discussion 9 02-15-2004 05:42 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012