Getting around UPS Duty
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > Canada


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2006, 10:35 PM   #1
original kuhli
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
original kuhli's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 741
Default

Getting around UPS Duty


A number of times that I've purchased items from the US I've been forced to use UPS's brokerage. The trouble is they charge $60 cdn to assess $5.00 in GST which troubles me a bit.

Does anyone know how to avoid using UPS's brokerage? Keep in mind that some people only ship with UPS.
original kuhli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2006, 01:01 AM   #2
jlee
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1
Default

I'm not sure if this will work everytime. But with some dry goods I had sent to me I called them and told them I would do the brokerage for it. Pretty simple. Picked up the documents from them, took them down the street to Customs, gave the forms to the customs guy, and paid the GST. didn't have to do any paperwork myself customs did it all for me. Took me all of 15min (including driving between UPS and customs which in Winnipeg is just a couple streets over.

I've only done this once but they are suppose to let you do your own brokerage. Be persistent and don't take no for an answer.

But I just prefer to avoid UPS at all cost. if its dry goods USPS or Canada Post is by far faster than UPS ground.
jlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 04:42 PM   #3
original kuhli
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
original kuhli's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 741
Default

You're absolutely right, trouble is non of the US shippers will use DHL or Purolator, those are the two I prefer. Nonetheless, thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a try next time.

So I gather you called them with the tracking number and they noted it on the account that it shouldn't be run through their brokerage and that was it?
original kuhli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012