Guide: Arduino based LED controller for Current Satellite LED+ - Page 28
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2013, 08:52 PM   #406
Texan78
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Texan78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Texas
Posts: 835
Default

I've pretty much put this project on the back burner until I have some free time with nothing to do. I am not using the Sat+ anymore for my primary lights. I am just using them for moonlights and the Ramp Timer takes care of that in conjunction with my BMLs on my Apex.
Texan78 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2013, 09:00 PM   #407
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 199
Default

@texan - yeah i need some free time as well. maybe the OP can use that link in the main post for newbies.

I am going to take this on in the near future.

@all - should I stick with the uno or go with the due if there is a chance I will want to add on to this concept for a more full tank automation? any gotcha's i should worry about ?
__________________
55g, 10g, SpecII
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 11:19 PM   #408
jlboygenius
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Default

this is an awesome project!
I just got this LED light and am working to get mine setup with arduino control.

is 4.1 the most recent version?

Has anyone thought about putting the code on GitHub or something like that, to make it easier to share and version?

thanks!
jlboygenius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 03:28 AM   #409
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Been trying to follow this project for a few weeks now, have some soldering experience but not much as far as reading schematics and such. Got all the stuff listed today in the mail but I may have gotten the wrong RTC.

It has WAY more pins that any that you guys listed, pulled up a diagram and wondering if you can point me in the direction of which I would need to use?


Edit:
So I think I have it mostly figured out, but on this diagram what are the brown and purple, cant seem to locate those on my RTC.

Last edited by Jsty093083; 12-31-2013 at 09:03 PM.. Reason: 1
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 09:27 PM   #410
jlboygenius
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsty093083 View Post
Been trying to follow this project for a few weeks now, have some soldering experience but not much as far as reading schematics and such. Got all the stuff listed today in the mail but I may have gotten the wrong RTC.

It has WAY more pins that any that you guys listed, pulled up a diagram and wondering if you can point me in the direction of which I would need to use?


Edit:
So I think I have it mostly figured out, but on this diagram what are the brown and purple, cant seem to locate those on my RTC.

I think the only pins you need to worry about are the ones in the top left. I imagine that they are all actually the same, just different ways to connect to them. I just hooked up mine, and all i needed was +5, grnd, SDA and SCL.
jlboygenius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 09:37 PM   #411
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlboygenius View Post
I think the only pins you need to worry about are the ones in the top left. I imagine that they are all actually the same, just different ways to connect to them. I just hooked up mine, and all i needed was +5, grnd, SDA and SCL.
alrighty, I was hoping I would be able to just copy the code all you guys had written, as I know nothing about code, without the DS wire going to 2 is it going to be messed up if I copy it?

Went into this with a lot of confidence, but gotta admit, im not feeling it anymore lol.
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 10:38 PM   #412
jlboygenius
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsty093083 View Post
alrighty, I was hoping I would be able to just copy the code all you guys had written, as I know nothing about code, without the DS wire going to 2 is it going to be messed up if I copy it?

Went into this with a lot of confidence, but gotta admit, im not feeling it anymore lol.
the one thing I'll note where that picture is wrong(probably) is where you connect SDA and SCL. for older arudino's, this is correct. If you're using an arduino Duo(and you most likely are), there are seperate pins for SDA and SCL.

If you're looking at your arduino the same way that one is laid out in the picture, the SDA/SCL pins will be in the top left.

When you have it connected, watch the serial Port out out. It will show the time output, so you can see that it's working. One thing to note, i believe the Arduino software defaults to 9600bps for the serial, but this code is setup to use 57600(i think). If you see gibberish in the serial monitor window, check that you have the speed set correctly.
jlboygenius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 10:51 PM   #413
jlboygenius
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsty093083 View Post
alrighty, I was hoping I would be able to just copy the code all you guys had written, as I know nothing about code, without the DS wire going to 2 is it going to be messed up if I copy it?

Went into this with a lot of confidence, but gotta admit, im not feeling it anymore lol.

Hm, looks like only the arduino Uno R3's moved the sda/scl ports.
see:

this is the back, they are the top right pins
jlboygenius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2014, 07:35 PM   #414
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Alrighty, I think i got all the hardware setup, went through some of the stuff at the beginning, with the IR sensor and remote and no issues there. Copied the latest sketch code and getting an error when trying to compile.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp: In member function 'void DateTimeClass::setTime(time_t)':
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp:28: error: 'millis' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp: In member function 'time_t DateTimeClass::now()':
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp:43: error: 'millis' was not declared in this scope

I am very very new at this and have no code experience at all so any clue what I need to do to get this working? downloaded all the libraries needed I believe.

EDIT: figured out partly, forgot to edit the timealarm.h to 24 from 6. Now im getting:

controller_sketch.ino: In function 'void setup()':
controller_sketch:24: error: 'Alarm' was not declared in this scope
controller_sketch.ino: In function 'void loop()':
controller_sketch:41: error: 'Alarm' was not declared in this scope

Last edited by Jsty093083; 01-09-2014 at 07:58 PM.. Reason: figured partly out
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 01:37 AM   #415
Aquatechtoo
High Tech Redneck
 
Aquatechtoo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Central PA
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsty093083 View Post
Alrighty, I think i got all the hardware setup, went through some of the stuff at the beginning, with the IR sensor and remote and no issues there. Copied the latest sketch code and getting an error when trying to compile.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp: In member function 'void DateTimeClass::setTime(time_t)':
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp:28: error: 'millis' was not declared in this scope
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp: In member function 'time_t DateTimeClass::now()':
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\DateTime\DateTime.cpp:43: error: 'millis' was not declared in this scope

I am very very new at this and have no code experience at all so any clue what I need to do to get this working? downloaded all the libraries needed I believe.

EDIT: figured out partly, forgot to edit the timealarm.h to 24 from 6. Now im getting:

controller_sketch.ino: In function 'void setup()':
controller_sketch:24: error: 'Alarm' was not declared in this scope
controller_sketch.ino: In function 'void loop()':
controller_sketch:41: error: 'Alarm' was not declared in this scope
You might try reading through some of the posts starting around #349. I had some of the same issues and the answers should be documented clearly enough in those who answered my posts that they may help you too.
Aquatechtoo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 02:54 AM   #416
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Alrighty, did some reading and went back and deleted my library and started from scratch. Compiled fine, but now that its loaded into my arduino im getting a blank lcd with nothing showing just line 1 and line 3 contrast bars. not sure whats happening.

I did run the hello world sketch and it worked fine, so not sure where im messed up here.

Last edited by Jsty093083; 01-10-2014 at 03:14 AM.. Reason: .
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 02:55 AM   #417
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Oh and im using Indychus's latest update from the front page.
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 02:57 AM   #418
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Woooo got it! Only question I have now may be an easy one, the clock is showing 24 minutes fast, even when hooked to my computer, not sure why, any help there? Seems my RTC is not working every time I unplug it and replug it in it starts at the same time, 2346.

Last edited by Jsty093083; 01-10-2014 at 03:37 AM.. Reason: .
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 04:04 PM   #419
Jsty093083
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Default

Got it, Indychus figured it out.

Last edited by Jsty093083; 01-11-2014 at 02:17 AM.. Reason: .
Jsty093083 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 05:06 AM   #420
t2ak
Algae Grower
 
t2ak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Default

Just put this together and it work great! Awesome job everyone. Thank you

One quick question. My clock is 6 minutes fast. How can I adjust it?

Sent using these stoopid hooves..
t2ak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
arduino, automation, current led+, diy, light controller

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Your Location. As precise as you feel comfortable with.
Security Question
While balancing on a piece of wood, two inches by four inches known as a 2x4, John and his friend Sally both spotted a dalmatian inside of a truck with sirens. The animal with John and Sally is a _ _ _?
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012