Grow plant setup
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2014, 04:35 AM   #1
PierreG
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 36
Default

Grow plant setup


  • I setup this 20 gal to grow plant as fast as possible for my future aquascape (Hemianthus micranthemoides & Sagitaires naines to start).
  • I use a tray (good for 78 plants) suspended to the aquarium sides (I attach a rock under because the tray is floating!).
  • I put a Finnex Fugeray+ LED lamp and 12 to 14 hr/day of lighting.
  • 8" between the plant top and the light.
  • I use rockwool and a bit of Aquasoil Amazonia in each wool.
  • I put hydroponic fertilizer (local and unknow brand) and iron supplement.
  • I add air bubbles and CO2 (2 bottle of yeast) with my special diffuser and 24h/day.....(3-4 bubbles/sec...maybe to much ?)
  • The water is at 75 F.
Any suggestion to improve that setup?





Thank you!

Last edited by PierreG; 12-13-2014 at 04:46 AM.. Reason: ...
PierreG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2014, 04:43 AM   #2
Nathan.G
Algae Grower
 
Nathan.G's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 42
Default

Ditch the air stone. No fish no need for the extra O2. With a yeast co2 system , the air bubbles from the stone will off gas your co2
Nathan.G is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 04:45 AM   #3
Nacho-bsas
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 54
Default

I will start something like that in the next days to grow the plants that im not using in my prime tank. And maybe a rcs breeder too. I hope you show your progress in this proyect. Good luck!
Nacho-bsas is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 04:47 AM   #4
Nacho-bsas
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 54
Default

I think the airstone is for the roots, Like the hydroponic system...
Nacho-bsas is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 04:53 AM   #5
PierreG
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nacho-bsas View Post
I think the airstone is for the roots, Like the hydroponic system...
Exactly....I start with an hydroponic setup with the tray half in the water but the foliage was very bad.

I decide to go all submerge to reduce the impact when I will submerge them back in the large tank,

I believe the oxygen/air bubble will help the root eventually, move the nutrient around and move the water for the heat. Before I remove it, I will need good reference!

The air is mostly in the back of the tank and the CO2 in the center...

Thanks!

The first hydroponic setup
PierreG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 04:59 AM   #6
Nacho-bsas
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 54
Default

Last year i made the emersed hydroponic for that purpose. Some plant species cant grow emersed. But is very usefull, I regrow a little portion of hc very fast with this method.
Nacho-bsas is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:04 AM   #7
PierreG
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nacho-bsas View Post
Last year i made the emersed hydroponic for that purpose. Some plant species cant grow emersed. But is very usefull, I regrow a little portion of hc very fast with this method.
Immersed you mean?

Any picture of your setup? Very similar setup? Did you put air and CO2 ?
PierreG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:06 AM   #8
Nathan.G
Algae Grower
 
Nathan.G's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 42
Default

Look at most planted tanks. No air supply except for a small amount from top water movement. And just enought for the fish. Co2 takes a lot longer to dissolve in water compared to O2. And it the first to off gas. I would recommend so research but I do believe that roots get enough O2 from the bacteria in the soil and rock wool. Water plants do not act the same as terrestrials plants in hydroponic system
Nathan.G is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:12 AM   #9
PierreG
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan.G View Post
Look at most planted tanks. No air supply except for a small amount from top water movement. And just enought for the fish. Co2 takes a lot longer to dissolve in water compared to O2. And it the first to off gas. I would recommend so research but I do believe that roots get enough O2 from the bacteria in the soil and rock wool. Water plants do not act the same as terrestrials plants in hydroponic system
It's not a planted tank and not much soil for the bacteria.

And my CO2 diffuser allow the CO2 to be in contact with the water a very long time check the picture...

Please, provide me reference....I will wait for more comments before making any changes.

My CO2 diffuser: a Tupperware filled with CO2 and with a hole at 1" from the top. Many holes at the bottom allow water circulation. That diffuser allows the CO2 to be in contact with the water for a long time and under pressure. You can see the CO2 in the top....of the Tupperware
PierreG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:15 AM   #10
Nacho-bsas
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 54
Default

Emersed... I used an airstone wand for the roots, and the plant was in a floating raft so the plants grow emersed. I dont have photos of that setup, but i will upload some pictures of the setup im trying to star in this days. I dont use co2 because the plants was emersed and they take co2 from the air.
Nacho-bsas is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:19 AM   #11
Nacho-bsas
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 54
Default

I think your setup is just fine... Give it a few weeks to look how it works. Maybe you can try to put some of the plants over the water level and others below and compare the growing rates.
Nacho-bsas is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:21 AM   #12
Nathan.G
Algae Grower
 
Nathan.G's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 42
Default

Rock wool is very porous and it has a lot of surface area for bacteria to grow like in a filter. And although it my not appear to be. It is a planted tank and all the same issues apply. I will look for some links I used when setting up my system
Nathan.G is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:24 AM   #13
PierreG
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 36
Default

Don't forget, no filter in that tank like in a normal thank to create water movement and the CO2 bubble alone will not be enough for that.

I don't think the air will hurt and I see more advantage (water flow, heat, root). Maybe the CO2 will be less efficient, but it's less critical. I will wait few days...and see !

If I put some plants over the water...i will need to close the thank to kept some humidity and put co2 in the air....and another tray somehow!
I try that before and no success!

OLD SETUP....

Last edited by PierreG; 12-13-2014 at 05:35 AM.. Reason: ...
PierreG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:29 AM   #14
Nacho-bsas
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 54
Default

My bad... I have a mister on my setup, and a lid.
Nacho-bsas is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2014, 05:36 AM   #15
Nathan.G
Algae Grower
 
Nathan.G's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 42
Default

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ht=co2+gassing

here check this one out

i have personally grown with a hydroponic system and u have to let the roots receive o2 thats why they can not stay submerged for long periods of time

try using a cheap flow pump to move water around instead because right now i bet u are losing the c02 as fast as u can produce it
Nathan.G is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012