Newbie with Fertilizers
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters

Old 07-17-2013, 08:11 PM   #1
Dina-Angel
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)

Ok, I am new to that chapter. I hot myself some Flourish Excel. How should I start dosing my 55 gallon tank? I have low light and low light plants. Any suggestions, experiences?

And is there a specific time of a day where you would recommend to dose?

Last edited by Darkblade48; 07-17-2013 at 11:14 PM.. Reason: On initial use or after a major (> 40%) water change, use 1 capful (5 mL) for every 40 L (10 gallons*). Thereafter use 1 capful for every 200 L (50 gallons*) daily or every other day. Dosing may be
Dina-Angel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2013, 11:14 PM   #2
Darkblade48

PTrader: (3/100%)

According to the product website:

Quote:
On initial use or after a major (> 40%) water change, use 1 capful (5 mL) for every 40 L (10 gallons*). Thereafter use 1 capful for every 200 L (50 gallons*) daily or every other day. Dosing may be slowly increased in high-growth aquariums. For smaller dosing please note that each cap thread is approximately 1 mL.
Note that Excel, for an aquarium as large as yours, can get expensive rather quickly.

In terms of timing, I believe actually remembering to dose is more important than the timing.

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2013, 11:20 PM   #3
Dina-Angel
Planted Tank Obsessed