New Planted Tank, Need Help!!!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 07-16-2013, 05:02 AM   #1
Kobalt

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question

New Planted Tank, Need Help!!!

Hi guys, so I'm brand new to the hobby, but I am ready to start a freshwater tank soon and I'm very excited! I have already purchased an Aqueon 40 Gal Breeder. I want to have a planted tank, I'm planning on using Eco-Complete Substrate, with some Angelfish, Pristella Tetras and GBRs. Maybe some Corys or Swordtails. I'll start listing my biggest concerns and questions. I am a TOTAL newbie at this so bear with me and my stupid questions!

CYCLING: I want to do a fishless cycle considering the fish I want to use aren't very hardy (except the Pristellas) but I would prefer to be more humane about the whole situation and not risk hurting any fish. I've heard SEVERAL ways on how to cycle a tank so my questions on cycling are:

1) Can I condition water + add ammonia + dechlorinate a tank with plants already in the tank? I don't want to damage the plants.

2) Is there any way I could cycle the tank without preexisting media? I've heard that I can use Tetra SafeStart to add good bacteria to a tank without having preexisting media but I want to hear from people who have experience using Tetra SafeStart, I've read lots of different things from lots of different people.

3) When and how often should I change the water during a fishless cycle? I'm pretty sure I'm supposed to start doing water changes after nitrates start appearing in the tank.

4) How can I keep track of my PH levels?

EQUIPMENT: I'm not sure what kind of Filter I should get for a 40 Gal Breeder. I know a filter is supposed to be able to filter 3 times the tank per hour so I should aim for a filter that does 120GPH.

1) What brands of filters would you suggest?