CO2 regulator question. Where did all my co2 go?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 07-14-2013, 06:46 PM   #1
NorthMan77
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

CO2 regulator question. Where did all my co2 go?

I started a 55gallon planted tank about 2 months ago, not my first planted tank, but first time using pressurized CO2. I got a regulator off a guy who had been using it on a paint ball cylinder, it had a needle valve and a bubble counter and he had swapped out one CFM gauge for a psi one.. I didn't want to use a paintball cylinder so I got a 20lb cylinder(smallest I could get). I have been running it for 2 months now at around 20psi, all of a sudden the tank seems empty, it was at 15psi this morning and I cannot increase the pressure. The main gauge reads 0. None of my fish are dead and the level in the fish tank appears safe. I leak tested it the first couple weeks I had it and again just now for what good it would do. I am really confused, because I know a 20lbs tank should have lasted much longer. I suspect it's leaking, but why wouldn't the leak bubble? I soaped it up all the way to the reactor.

Last edited by NorthMan77; 07-14-2013 at 06:49 PM.. Reason: Picture issue
NorthMan77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-14-2013, 07:24 PM   #2
Ach1Ll3sH33L
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)

If there are no leaks, then it probably wasn't filled properly or all the way. make sure you take it to an airgas or similar location that fills the tanks by weight as opposed to equalizing pressures like most liquor stores or small shops do.
Old 07-14-2013, 09:21 PM   #3
niko
Planted Member

PTrader: (25/100%)