46 gallon bow front Dutchy with a rock high tech/high light
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2013, 02:40 AM   #1
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

46 gallon bow front Dutchy with a rock high tech/high light


This has been a little bit in the making.. Buying a piece at a time... Already had the tank... Bought substrate,, then even bought some landscaping tools.. Had a 5000k 90° light built at "Build My LED" (great folks btw... Super friendly and more than willing to talk as long as it takes to get you to where you know what they're talking about... Lol)
I've only done a bare minimum of research on individual plants themselves,, but have watched dozens of hours of YouTube.... Ordered/bought this coČunit:

Complete CO2 rig:- Matchenson 3104C Dual Stage, WP 0 - 30 psi- Hoke metering valve, horizontally mounted- Clippard mouse solenoid with power adapter- 3-port manifold (2 ports currently plugged) by betatail- Check valve[censored]or[censored]JBJ-style Bubble counter- in-tank mini ceramic disk glass diffuser, clean- Fully assembled- CO2 canister NOT included--> will work with in-tank diffusers and external reactors--> will NOT work with in-line atomizers requiring > 30psi

I also bought this diffuser:
Gulfstream Tropical AGU00529 Ista Max Mix Co2 Reactor for Aquarium, Large

I bought the E.I. Fertilizer pack from GLA plus three extra pounds of potassium nitrate, just for the heck of it..
I also have 100 Osmocote tabs... I already spread 50 out, evenly under my substrate... I also, bought this stuff called root medic complete original.. No idea how to dose it... Holding off until I do... Hopefully I didn't use too much Osmocote... I have a butt load of java moss and want to make a moss wall on the back and two sides.. Just haven't found the proper screens... (open for suggestions)
I have some few random plants on the way from a friend.. Also paid aquarium plants. Com $20 to help me design my aquarium (probably a waste of money) I sent them pics of tanks I like.

My original plan was to have only plants and fish,, but I decided to put my favorite rock in it. It's a piece of petrified rotten wood stump... I love it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130713_210103.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	174841  

Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2013, 02:43 AM   #2
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

Give you an idea of placement.. It sits to the right of our living room,, my 110 gallon mbuna tank sits to the left... We never watch TV anyhow... Just stare at fish.. Have an aquarium in every room and a koi pond out back.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130713_210044.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	174857  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20130713_210032.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	174865  

Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 02:51 AM   #3
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,183
Default

50 O-tabs in a 46g tank... Your next post will be titled "Help: Ammonia > 8ppm, everything is dead". Yes, I can predict the future

Nice rock, btw.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 03:07 AM   #4
denske
Crypt addiction
 
denske's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 247
Default

What substrate are you using? 50 tabs is waaaay to much bud.
denske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 03:57 AM   #5
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

im using 80lbs eco complete on 4.5 sq.ft surface area... I read somewhere that was the right amount. .. I can do one of several things.. use an ammo lock until the bio catches up... I can vacuum, fill, and vacuum again and again until diluted... I wasnt adding fish anytime soon anyhow.. just plants... im getting a new fuval fx6 for it.. ill have some live media to put into it,, but no fish until stable... I have a lot of ammonia binders at all times on hand , in case of emergency in my 6000 gal koi pond... I have one gallon of API Ammo lock.. five kilos swachem "Safe"(powdered "prime")

Last edited by Loco4Tanks; 08-24-2013 at 03:12 AM.. Reason: typo
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 04:04 AM   #6
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

aside from the fert booboo,,,, how does everything else sound? fyi other tgan prefilter I use cermedia in my fx6's about 1/4 -1/2 cubic ft... that's a TON of surface area.. I have two fx5's and two fx6's in operation already... I love them
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 04:12 AM   #7
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVT View Post
50 O-tabs in a 46g tank... Your next post will be titled "Help: Ammonia > 8ppm, everything is dead". Yes, I can predict the future

Nice rock, btw.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
the picture doesnt do it justice... its beautiful,,, perfectly preserved piece of petrified rotten stump wood... got it for a steal , at a lfs closing the doors auction... It had a nice peak to it,, but I broke it at one point, moving things around in my mbuna tank,, a really heavy rock fell on it..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130713_210057.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	138.8 KB
ID:	174889  


Last edited by Loco4Tanks; 07-14-2013 at 04:17 AM.. Reason: More
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 04:25 AM   #8
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

I was going to wait until plants arrive,, get them situated ,, then fill it up,, but with this osmocote issue, , ill go ahead and fill it in the morning ... maybe my bio can get a head start.. ill drain it, vacuum, drain, vacuum, drain, vacuum. ..Over and over, if that's what it takes, , I have all the time and energy to do what I need to

Last edited by Loco4Tanks; 07-14-2013 at 04:27 AM.. Reason: typo
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:33 AM   #9
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

ugh.... everyone was quick to tell me I screwed up,, then y'all ran off before telling me about the solution,, or letting me know if my proposed solution is sufficient. ... :p
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:39 AM   #10
Xirxes
Algae Grower
 
Xirxes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 101
Default

I would remove all but 5 lbs of the substrate, keep it as a lower layer latterite, and add more ecocomplete on top. System might have a chance to catch up then.

Save the rest of the substrate for later additions if it doesnt foul up on you due to high nutrient content.
Xirxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:44 AM   #11
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

im not buying more eco... ill just dig it all out and rinse it or even pp it, if that'll work... I need a solution that doesnt involve buying more eco.. what about just using ammonia binders
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:46 AM   #12
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,183
Default

We all run away?

Anyways, if the tank is not filled, why not just 'rake' the substrate and fish the tabs out?

My biggest concern is that above certain ammonia level beneficial bacteria will not survive. I think that's around the magic 8 ppm.

You can always do what many people do with AS: daily 90% WC ... for 2-3 weeks.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:47 AM   #13
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVT View Post
We all run away?

Anyways, if the tank is not filled, why not just 'rake' the substrate and fish the tabs out?

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
wont they be dissolved?
Ill go do what I can
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:05 AM   #14
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

I got 15-20 out
what if I fill it halfway. throw in a few grams of pp.. stir it up and let it sit a couple hours,,, turn it off with sodium thiosulfate, then rinse it really well,,, should rake care of it?
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:07 AM   #15
Loco4Tanks
Planted Member
 
Loco4Tanks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVT View Post
We all run away?

Anyways, if the tank is not filled, why not just 'rake' the substrate and fish the tabs out?

My biggest concern is that above certain ammonia level beneficial bacteria will not survive. I think that's around the magic 8 ppm.

You can always do what many people do with AS: daily 90% WC ... for 2-3 weeks.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
what about ammo lock?
Loco4Tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012