CO2 Reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2006, 03:28 AM   #1
DiabloCanine
Everyone has an opinion
 
DiabloCanine's Avatar
 
PTrader: (88/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 1,676
Default

CO2 Reactor


My link was busted and the previous post on my External Inline CO2 Reactor was lost due to a hacker. I will repost here in case anyone is interested.

I injected CO2 into the intakes of my Fluvals through the siphon starter caps on the customflo over-the-wall setups in 3 of my tanks. It worked great but I hate having hardware in the tank. It began with an idea to remove as much hardware as possible from the tank. Here is the external inline CO2 reactor I made to replace the intake injectors.

This is how I modified the siphon starter cap on the Lifeguard Customflo water system.







I researched the web for CO2 reactors to get an idea on how to make one. Here is the design I decided on which incorporates ideas found on the web and in my head.

Here is a picture of the reactor I made for a friend at Simply Discus.



Here is a layout of the parts.



One of the features I wanted was the ability to remove the end cap for cleaning. Eventually, the reactor and bio balls will fill up with mulm and slow the flow. When this happens, I remove the end cap to clean the reactor and clean or replace the bio balls.



Here is a close-up of the reactor installed in the stand with the Fluval removed.



CO2 comes from the other side of the stand. The stand has a bookcase in the middle with compartments on each end.



CO2 reactor and Fluval installed in stand.



Thanks for looking. Please let me know if I left anything out or you have any questions. If you would like me to make one for you, PM me…...DC

Last edited by DiabloCanine; 11-14-2006 at 10:50 AM..
DiabloCanine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2007, 05:52 PM   #2
Brian A
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to Brian A
Default a big thank you!!

A few weekends ago DC and I made a modified version of his CO2 Reactor for one of my tanks. All i can say is that the man is a DIY genius!!! He knew off the top of his head what we were going to need and how it fit it all together. We made a version that let me fit my PH Controller in it, that way I am better able to monitor how it is doing.

I am happy to say that it is working better than I could have expected. Not a leak anywhere and it is very quiet!! If you're lucky, he might start building extras to sell.

I can't thank you enough for the help DC!

-Brian
__________________
Filstar pimp #74
Brian A is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2007, 01:12 PM   #3
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (93/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 6,562
Default

DC,
Do you feel that the Fluval is keeping up with the additional bends and turns that you have added to the outflow? Any additional pump noise?

they make a big deal in their setup manual not to introduce loops and bends in the output line, so was curious as to the condition of the pump as a result of this mod.

thanks. Looks sweet by the way. great idea.
__________________
Gatekeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2007, 03:45 PM   #4
DiabloCanine
Everyone has an opinion
 
DiabloCanine's Avatar
 
PTrader: (88/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 1,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmccreedy View Post
DC,
Do you feel that the Fluval is keeping up with the additional bends and turns that you have added to the outflow? Any additional pump noise?

they make a big deal in their setup manual not to introduce loops and bends in the output line, so was curious as to the condition of the pump as a result of this mod.

thanks. Looks sweet by the way. great idea.
I have found the Fluval 4 series to be a very hardy filter, shot CO2 into all the intakes at one time in their lives and still using the original parts. They are all working fine, no noise and great flow. Having said that, keep in mind the 304 is rated for a 70 gallon tank, I have 2 on a 55:







and 1 on a 37:



The 404 is rated for a 100 gallon tank, I am putting 1 on a 46 bow which is being built right now. Look in my DIY links for more info......DC
DiabloCanine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 06:17 AM   #5
kkentert
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 137
Default

don't think it will work on a fluval- but eheim people...Just run the CO2 tube into the intake of you filter! workds like a charm and cost 0 $ and 0 time! If you don't have an eheim follow diablos wonderfully detailed instructions!
kkentert is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 07:03 AM   #6
DiabloCanine
Everyone has an opinion
 
DiabloCanine's Avatar
 
PTrader: (88/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 1,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkentert View Post
don't think it will work on a fluval- but eheim people...Just run the CO2 tube into the intake of you filter! workds like a charm and cost 0 $ and 0 time! If you don't have an eheim follow diablos wonderfully detailed instructions!
I guess you missed it the first time, read this thread again, CO2 injection into Fluval intakes works but.....you need to have equipment in the tank for that. The goal of my DIY projects are centered around removing all equipment from the tank; all my show tanks now have the equipment below the tank out of view......DC
DiabloCanine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 11:35 AM   #7
esarkipato
Wannabe Guru
 
esarkipato's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: W. Michigan
Posts: 1,984
Send a message via MSN to esarkipato
Default

What is the name for the small brass peices that the filter hoses/co2 hose hooks into?

Also, do you apply anything to the PVC threads to prevent leaks?
__________________
-Ernie

29 Gallon Tank: 110W PC Lights, Milwaukee MA957 CO2, Fluorite/Sand Substrate, Checked into E.I. Rehab


MY RENA FILSTAR XP3 PIMPS ME! (#67)
esarkipato is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 12:31 PM   #8
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

The small brass piece is called a pipe nipple or hose barb. I prefer not to have brass in contact with my aquarium water. So I use nylon barbs. You can see how I build my reactors in my Guide.

And yes you have to apply something to the PVC threads.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 02:35 PM   #9
lillou
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 32
Default

Ernie

You apply tefllon tape to the threads.

If you can get the nylon hose adapters thy are better than the brass.
lillou is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 02:54 PM   #10
DiabloCanine
Everyone has an opinion
 
DiabloCanine's Avatar
 
PTrader: (88/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 1,676
Default

The brass pieces I use are adapters and barbs. Nylon is not better than brass, they both work fine as can be seen if you follow my projects or have one of my reactors; as with most other things it is a matter of preference. Some fittings are hard to locate, PM me if you need fittings or a reactor. There are several folks using this type of reactor (I will make you one for cost/shipping plus a lb. of starbucks, it includes a mount, check valve, extra bio balls, CO2 probe mount if you want the DC2 model and CO2 tubing). Use loctite on brass, teflon tape on pvc. I also use all purpose glue for the pvc joints instead of the convential purple crap.......DC
DiabloCanine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2007, 05:16 PM   #11
kkentert
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 137
Default

Hey Diablo- I did miss that. Sorry. Good instructions.
kkentert is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2007, 04:13 AM   #12
DiabloCanine
Everyone has an opinion
 
DiabloCanine's Avatar
 
PTrader: (88/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 1,676
Default

5/8" ID-3/4" OD from Lowes. Any thinner on the OD will eventually collapse/kink the hose......DC
DiabloCanine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2007, 04:16 AM   #13
frozenbarb
Planted Tank Guru
 
frozenbarb's Avatar
 
PTrader: (50/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA NY
Posts: 2,310
Send a message via AIM to frozenbarb
Default

kk Thanks DC..

Do you think i will find all the stuff i need at a home depot?
for a reactor and hose?
__________________
One month in.
frozenbarb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2007, 04:27 AM   #14
DiabloCanine
Everyone has an opinion
 
DiabloCanine's Avatar
 
PTrader: (88/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 1,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenbarb View Post
kk Thanks DC..

Do you think i will find all the stuff i need at a home depot?
for a reactor and hose?
For my reactors, I get parts at Lowes and Menards. Lowes has a good selection of pvc and brass fittings but Menards is the place for nylon barbs. If you do not have a Lowes or Menards around there, let me know what you need and I'll pick it up for you.......DC
DiabloCanine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2007, 12:42 PM   #15
rcalzadilla
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 51
Default

Thanks for the great info and pictures
rcalzadilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012