29g to 40b transition
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2013, 08:00 PM   #1
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Default

29g to 40b transition


So like most people on TPT, I took advantage of the Petco $1 per gallon sale and got myself a 40 gallon breeder tank. I currently have a 29 gallon tank that's been up and running for almost 2 years. It's my only tank, and I don't really want more than one main tank at a time. Sidenote: I also got a 10 gallon in the sale, but that'll be a different thread.
The 40b won't be directly replacing the 29g. I'm going to make a new stand for it, DIY style. I think I'm also going to place the 40b on the other side of the room. That way I can start working on the 40b setup before I take the 29g down, and it値l make things much less complicated.
I値l be moving all of the fish and plants from the 29g to the 40b. In terms of equipment, I知 going to have to move the filter (eheim 2217). I plan on getting a new light and a new inline heater as well. Also going to make a pvc co2 reactor for the new tank as well.
I知 looking for advice/recommendations on the best way to make the transition.
I have a 20 gallon high I can use to house the fish temporarily if need be. I also have a spare heater and AC70 filter I can use to seed/cycle the 40. No rush on this either. I probably won稚 be ready to make the transition until late fall. I want to get a solid game plan in place.
Recommendations on new equipment are appreciated as well. I知 thinking of going with an inline heater this time around, and possibly a buildmyled.com light fixture.
bennyjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2013, 08:08 PM   #2
crice8
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 518
Default

Im looking to do this exact same thing except I will be moving early August and setting the 40B up then and making the transation that way! I currently have a 20H. I will have to keep an eye on this thread(=
crice8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 09:13 PM   #3
Psychedelic
Algae Grower
 
Psychedelic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 54
Default

I just converted to a 40b from a 55g. I'm running an eheim 2217 with purigen and a hydor in line heater. I feel like this combo is perfect for the 40b. The water is crystal clear and the surface agitation is perfect.

I filled an 8 gallon bucket up with the 55 gallons water and switched the filter and heater over. Let it run for a couple hours while the fish hung out in a few 3 gallon buckets. Everything is perfect and the fish are looking real healthy.

Good luck!!
Psychedelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 10:52 PM   #4
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Default

Thanks, Psychedelic. So you just took the water from one tank to the other and that did the trick, huh? I can't wait to make the switch. The 29 has no depth. Good luck with the move, crice8. Glad I'm just going across the room. :-) I moved a 10 gallon once, and that was enough of a PITA.
bennyjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:05 PM   #5
andrewq
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
andrewq's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: san antonio
Posts: 471
Default

I just recently transfered everything from 29gal to 40gal. I pretty much just transfered water from 29gal to 40gal. Waters already established, and bacteria in the filters are good. It did take a good 3 hours to do it, but the fish are happy. No need to cycle tank, as water and all equipment is already cycled. I would add new substrate though, mixed with old substrate if you have plants. Alot of the beneficial bacteria may be lost during transition.
andrewq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:05 PM   #6
Psychedelic
Algae Grower
 
Psychedelic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 54
Default

Yep, only used about 8 gallons from the 55. I Would if used more but my nitrates were super high! The 55 had no depth either that's why I made the transition!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjam View Post
Thanks, Psychedelic. So you just took the water from one tank to the other and that did the trick, huh? I can't wait to make the switch. The 29 has no depth. Good luck with the move, crice8. Glad I'm just going across the room. :-) I moved a 10 gallon once, and that was enough of a PITA.
Psychedelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 01:18 PM   #7
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Default

Thanks for the tips. Doesn't seem like it will be as bad as I thought it would be.
bennyjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 02:32 PM   #8
Psychedelic
Algae Grower
 
Psychedelic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 54
Default

Just take your time don't rush it
Psychedelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 03:08 PM   #9
secuono
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
secuono's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/96%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 922
Default

I just dump fish and plants into a 5g bucket or laundry bin. Then move the substrate to the new tank, add some water, plug in all the plants where you want them. Lastly, fill the rest, turn everything on and slowly add the fish in. Done.
If you use the same filter w/o a long off time, you don't need to cycle. Use de-chlorinater if needed, get the temp right.
secuono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 05:55 PM   #10
TehDopeness
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 60
Default

Lol I plan on doing the exact same thing. Actually building the stand right now =)
__________________
TehDopeness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 06:02 PM   #11
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Default

Nice, dopeness. Post a pic of the stand!
bennyjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:32 PM   #12
TehDopeness
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjam View Post
Nice, dopeness. Post a pic of the stand!
I will when I'm finished =)
__________________
TehDopeness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:42 PM   #13
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Default

Great. Thanks!
bennyjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 02:03 AM   #14
andrewq
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
andrewq's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: san antonio
Posts: 471
Default

what kind of lighting are you going to use. Im trying to decide between 4 bulb or 2. The tank I got has a plastic middle support. So im thinking 2 bulbs wont cover the entire bottom. idk
andrewq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 02:20 AM   #15
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Default

I'm leaning towards a buildmyled 36" fixture for my 40b. I'm definitely gonna go led. If I was going with t5ho again, I'd do a 4 bulb.
bennyjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
40b, transition

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012