Need Help! Algae is Killing my plants :(
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae

Old 07-02-2013, 06:30 PM   #1
Falconeyes88
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Need Help! Algae is Killing my plants :(

I am not sure what type of Algae this is or how to get rid of it.

I am new to planted tanks and have a 10 gallon, all the specs can be found here: http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/yo...n=Falconeyes88

It is ruining my tank and Plants.

Please help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130702_131432.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	102.8 KB
ID:	167881  

Name:	20130702_131440.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	167889  

Name:	20130702_132537.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	167897  

Falconeyes88 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2013, 07:30 PM   #2
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (33/100%)

No, algae is not killing your plants. Your plants aren't growing, that is the problem. When I started a planted tank way back when I had loads of algae but the plants grew fast enough that I didn't mind much. Some of your plants look fine, they seem to like your tank - if they have been in the tank for a while. Some look horrible, guessing they aren't happy with the situation. Replacing plants that are actually dying with more of the happy plants plus some fast growing stems and/or floaters might help your tank.

Has the hairgrass done anything at all? I'd check for healthy runners and cut back the top growth of what you have if you can without uprooting it if there are runners. Right now it is a handy substrate for that algae which is probably enjoying the nutrients leaking from the dead leaves.