GH went up with STS
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2013, 07:47 PM   #1
A.2013
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 21
Default

GH went up with STS


OK. I bought Safe-T-Sorb because I wanted to lower my KH and GH.

TAP:
KH:161 ppm (9)
GH:161 ppm (9)

Tank with STS:
KH: 161 ppm (9)
GH: 214ppm (12)

Bucket with STS and tap water:
KH: 161ppm (9)
GH: 214 (12)

So it's not anything in the tank. What's going on?
A.2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,499
Default

The KH absorption of STS is minimal and lasts for a very short period of time. It's not an aquatic substrate (we just use it for that) and each batch will actually vary from another. If you want a substrate that buffers, you'll have to buy a product specifically developed to do that like ADA Aquasoil.

Since it's calcined clay and dusty, I'm guessing you rinsed it quite heavily? That's going to cause it to break down a bit.

If you give it a couple days to settle into your tank, particulate matter in the water will eventually settle.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 04:26 PM   #3
A.2013
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 21
Default

That's the thing. kH didn't budge at all and gH went up quite a bit.
A.2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 04:30 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,499
Default

GH is essentially calcium and magnesium. So it makes sense that calcined clay would increase your GH.

Give the tank time to settle.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:18 AM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,707
Default

Odd.
The KH dropped to zero in my tank, and the GH stayed the same.
The lowered KH allowed the pH to drop, too.
I also suspect this material removed the sodium hydroxide the water company adds to the tap water.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 06:16 PM   #6
wheeling
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 75
Default

I used turface in my tank, it droped the KH to 3 from 9, and PH from 8.2 to 6.4, and stayed there.
wheeling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 07:53 PM   #7
A.2013
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 21
Default

Hmm. I may try the Turface.
A.2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012