Going to start a 29g planted, would like some advice!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 06-25-2013, 03:10 AM   #1
Duff0712
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Going to start a 29g planted, would like some advice!

So I just bought a 29g tank about 2 days ago and I have been in the process of deciding how I want to cycle the tank and what I ultimately want to put in it. I definitely want to make the tank a freshwater planted and have shrimp in it. Shrimp are just awesome (in my opinion). I am still a novice in the aquarium scene but I feel like I am pretty knowledgeable in the beginners league. I have a lightly planted 5gal with some guppies and platys and looking really forward to setting up this new tank! I just wanted to share what I have found through days of googling and watching youtube videos and see what everyone else thinks are good ideas and bad! Thanks!

Set up (hardware etc)

Aquaclear 50: Been doing a lot of research and Google searches and it seems a lot of people think this filter would be good for a 29g and like the product line. I am not sure if this comes with a little spongey thing to put at the end of the intake but I if it doesn't I heard it would be good to prevent small shrimp and baby fish from getting sucked in.