Eco-Complete or FloraMax?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2013, 03:37 PM   #1
mwei
Planted Member
 
mwei's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 175
Default

Eco-Complete or FloraMax?


Just out of curiosity, which one is better?
I'm looking online at the Petsmart and Petco sites and Petsmart only has FloraMax and Petco only has Eco-Complete...which one should I get and how much of it should i get to get a good decent amount/layer in a 25 gallon tank?
mwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2013, 03:48 PM   #2
hambone870
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
hambone870's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: illinois wisconsin border
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwei View Post
Just out of curiosity, which one is better?
I'm looking online at the Petsmart and Petco sites and Petsmart only has FloraMax and Petco only has Eco-Complete...which one should I get and how much of it should i get to get a good decent amount/layer in a 25 gallon tank?
i really like the eco a lot better, a bit more porous and a better grain size in my opinion

i did one bag in a 20 long but not sure of your footprint size for a 25
__________________
It is better to travel well than to arrive.

[Hambone's House]

[Culture Club]
hambone870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:49 PM   #3
xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 871
Default

Petsmart carries Flourite as well as Floramax.... IMO eco-complete sux because every time I've tried using it my plants started dying off, and I did the same exact regiment & dosing as I have with Flourite and Floramax and never had any problems with Flourite or Floramax.

Here's my old 75 gallon planted tank with a 70/30 mix of Flourite (70), and Floramax (30)

__________________
xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:58 PM   #4
hambone870
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
hambone870's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: illinois wisconsin border
Posts: 797
Default

well, there is a lot of people who use eco complete and grow plants wonderfully

im jaded i guess because i find whats under the eco and flora-max far more important

dirt fan here
__________________
It is better to travel well than to arrive.

[Hambone's House]

[Culture Club]
hambone870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:17 AM   #5
BHolmes
Planted Member
 
BHolmes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Hill, WA
Posts: 216
Default

This week I'm in the process of mineralizing 3 9L bags of MGOPM and capping it with 3 15lb bags of Flora-Max for my 90g.
__________________
BHolmes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 04:59 AM   #6
VetTechNova
Algae Grower
 
VetTechNova's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cal city, Illinois
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwei View Post
Just out of curiosity, which one is better?
I'm looking online at the Petsmart and Petco sites and Petsmart only has FloraMax and Petco only has Eco-Complete...which one should I get and how much of it should i get to get a good decent amount/layer in a 25 gallon tank?
Both of this products are almost the same, the difference being:

Eco-complete
Pros:
-smaller grain
-comes with beneficial bacteria
- not a lot of rising needed
Cons:
- pricey

FloraMax
Pros:
-bit cheaper
-the same as Eco but with out the bacteria
Cons:
- grain is a bit coarse
- need some good rising (not to much)


I recently have used FloraMax to setup a 27g hexagon tank and I got to say I'm very happy with it. It was cheaper, bought 2 bags for $27.91 (includes shipping), and I got about a good 3" of depth. My plants love it, they started to grow their roots really fast and new leafs are already sprouting. The only problem that I had with FloraMax was that it left my tank cloudy for a few days, though that was because I only rinsed it twice, but each bag comes with a classifier.
__________________
Planned-15g. shrimp and snail tank
VetTechNova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:02 PM   #7
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,182
Default

I've used both, and seem to have better luck using the eco
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:36 PM   #8
jesseliu13
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 80
Default

If you plan on buying it online... i suggest Dr. fosters and smith. Cheaper than petsmart and petco alot of times. but if your planning on picking it up there go with petsmart. petco is only cheap at certain times. right now petco has a 25% off site deal right now.
jesseliu13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:39 PM   #9
Cinbos
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Cinbos's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 353
Default

I am using 3 bags of floramax in my 55 gallon. I have had no problems what so ever. I also have a bunch of flourite I am waiting on using. But floromax is cheaper.
__________________
55 Gallon Planted

Fish
3 GBR, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Juvenile Super Red BN Plecos, 9 Oto Catfish, 9 Bloodfin Tetras
Plants
Rotala Indica, Cardamine, Crypt Spiralis, Pygmy Chain Swords, Dwarf Sag, Lutea Crypt, Wendtti Bronze and Red, and Floating Frogbit
Cinbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:12 PM   #10
AlanLe
Gurus Master
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 795
Default

Get Aqua soil if you can afford it. Anyways here is my tank with eco complete.
AlanLe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:20 PM   #11
andrewq
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: san antonio
Posts: 412
Default

ECO COMPLETE!!! Ive never used anything else, and my tank is heavily planted with swords. No co2, no liquid fertilizer. ECO COMPLETE only
andrewq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 04:05 PM   #12
mwei
Planted Member
 
mwei's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 175
Default

hmm...I may be leaning more towards eco-complete for now...as for how much should I get of it though...how bags would I need to be able to get a decent layer/amount in a 25 gallon tank?
mwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:23 PM   #13
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,749
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

i think 2 bags will be enough, you might still have some left. Eco complete and Floramax aren't the best, they lack all the most important nutrients, they only supply with minerals, such as Mg, Ca, iron etc. they require you to dose liquid fert which can be absorbed by the substrate. you can simply crush a Lava rock and have similar type of substrate. if you can afford it i would go with Aqua soil.
__________________
happi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:20 PM   #14
mwei
Planted Member
 
mwei's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happi View Post
i think 2 bags will be enough, you might still have some left. Eco complete and Floramax aren't the best, they lack all the most important nutrients, they only supply with minerals, such as Mg, Ca, iron etc. they require you to dose liquid fert which can be absorbed by the substrate. you can simply crush a Lava rock and have similar type of substrate. if you can afford it i would go with Aqua soil.
I see...hmmm if I'm doing a 3 layered type of look...would 1 bag be enough? (bottom most layer would be a medium amount of natural rock looking gravel, middle layer would be a thin to medium thick layer of the eco-complete or whatever substrate I end up choosing, and top most layer would be a thin ayer of pure white gravel)

As for it not having the important nutrients....I'm planning to put in root tabs...would that suffice? I'm only planning on putting in hornworts, java moss and possibly one more different type of moss, java fern, narrow leaf fern, dwarf sag, and jungle val.
mwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:00 PM   #15
herns
Planted Tank Guru
 
herns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (228/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,921
Default

Eco complete is fairly light substrate that everytime I plant trimmings they would float.

Make sure you have enough of it when you finally decide to buy.
herns is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012