help me im a poor newbie and i bought sad 2nd-hand plants!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 06-19-2013, 02:22 PM   #1
revolutionhope

PTrader: (0/0%)

help me im a poor newbie and i bought sad 2nd-hand plants!

Hi thanks for taking time to read my post.

Any advice or help would be appreciated for me this the first time I've posted looking for help on the net and I know this place has the most wonderful planted tank setups I've found anywhere so here I am.

I've only been running aquariums for less than a year and have just last night moved my goldfish to a larger (4 foot) tank. Attached is pic of new tank..

I was searching for some new plants because my fish looked very lonely in there and I found someone who was getting rid of some plants very cheaply that they didn't want on gumtree - i drove quite a long way to go and collect them and was disappointed that they have a lot of black algae growth on them. (2 pics attached).. they need some good care to nurture them to health although at least the very top parts of them all have new growth.

I couldn't resist making the purchase having driven so far and the number of plants being quite large for only $15 when local shops would sell the same amount of plants for more than double this price.

My pH in the tank is between 7 - 7.5. I currently have 2x4ft 36w fluorescent tubes running (one is a sylvania gro-lux purplish one and the other is a cheap 6500k tube). The tank is somewhere in the vicinity of 50-60 gallons i think and my substrate is just gravel (i don't want to purchase pre-made substrate any time soon but maybe in the future if i want to grow plants or if i find out i already have plants that absolutely NEED it)