New tank with.....algea
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae

Old 12-14-2003, 03:02 AM   #1
Rene

PTrader: (0/0%)

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to fishkeeping. It started with a "donated" 55 gallon tank. That tank is doing wonderful in the living room with plants growing beautifully and happy fish.
Now my problem is with my new 39 gallon tank that I try to get ready for some discus fish. My water parameters are: temperature 84 degrees Fahrenheid, PH 6.8, GH 100-150 ppm. Nitrate and ammonia levels are zero. I do not earate, it is an eclipse 3 tank with the mechanical, carbon and biowheel filter system. Lighting (probably not enough) 40Watts (2x 20 Watts bulbs) x 9 hours. My amazon swords do seem to grow a little, my Java fern doesn't grow at all. Green and bronze wentii (cryptocoryne) grow great as does pennyworth, but the water sprite does seem to die. I do have a little duckweed that seems to do well. 6 ottocynclus algea eaters are alive and kicking. Now this system has been cycling for about two and a half months and since the last two weeks I see black brush algea(BBA) developing on some leaves and on some of the substrate. A rosy barb that I put in there for a week, did not seem to do a lot, and the little ottocinclus neither. I can remove some by hand and it looks better, but is there anything else I can do? Would better lighting (say2x 40 watts bulbs make the plants grow better...but won't the algea grow more with more light as well?? What about a CO2 injection system?? or ferilizer (althuogh phosphates will make algeas grow...I thought).
All suggestions are welcome.
Rene vanWieringen
Tampa, Florida