Aftica's DIY Hood / Planted tank Adventures! (56K Warning)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals

Old 12-09-2003, 12:06 AM   #1
Aftica
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)

Aftica's DIY Hood / Planted tank Adventures! (56K Warning)

Hi Everyone;

I have been keeping fish now for about 20 years but took a brief hiatus the last couple of years when My wife and I moved and so on etc.. Anyway I am getting back into fishkeeping and decided this time to go with something I have never done before - a heavily planted tank.

With my objective in mind - I set out to learn about planted tanks - and I ended up at plantedtank.net which I must say has a great wealth of information. I feel so blessed with all that I have learned and seen amongst the posts of this forum, and now I feel it is my turn to start contributing back to the community... and I start this long journey with the very first step...

Well - my tank (a Hagen 77 gallon) used to have a single 4ft F40/CW lamp on a reflector / shop light... obviously inadequate for my grandious plans... a new hood is in order...

Well - I needed to decide upon a basic plan to follow as I am absolutly NOT a finish carpenter - I need an EASY plan... I seen Buck's, Malkore's and numerous other plans but I decided on a split canopy and the basic plan I am following can be seen here

Sweet - now it got to match my tank and stand - which is black, as is seen below.