Fish bacteria or fungus in planted tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish

Old 12-08-2003, 04:16 AM   #1
Shakey
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Hi,

I had a question in reguards to a fish disease in a planted tank. Since I am new to planted tanks I had a question in how the plants will respond to me trying to treat the fish, but am hoping that I will be able to keep the plants in there and alive since if its a bacteria, treatment will kill my bacteria for removing NH3/NH4 and NO2.

Ill try to give some good background so that I might get some good tips from anyone that may have gone though this. The tank is a 37 AGA, 30" x 12" x 22", been set-up and running for approx 8 years, and have been a african cichlid tank perviously.

Water chem:
temp: 78 degrees
pH= 8.3
very hard water
NH3/NH4 = unmeasurable
NO2= unmeasurable
NO3 ~ 20-30ppm
light ~1.5 wpg
no substrate additives nor firtilizer (but thats something for a different post)

Little more background: when I made the change from africans to my current peaceful community - planted tank, all my fish are fine tho I had one exception. Keeping the current pleco and syn. cat I traded in my last 2 africans (6+ years old ones) I added 2 angels, 4 neons, 1 dwarf gromie, and 1 male guppie. All fish are perfectly fine then all of the sudden 10 days later my male guppy got a small patch on a side "flapper" fin (never can remember fin names). By the time I got home from work the patch spead to the other "flapper and the "rear fantail" and began rotting the rear tail fantail. Within 15 minutes of completing dinner the fish was dead and a noticable patch of the tail had rotted by the time it died. Now oddly enough "none" of the other fish had any problem at all. I watched the others very closely for the next 10 days and no problems at all.