Wasserpests Fluidoser
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 08-13-2006, 02:05 AM   #1
Wasserpest
Are these real?

PTrader: (176/100%)

Wasserpests Fluidoser

A couple of months ago I started playing around with some designs for a device that allows me to dose small amounts of concentrated liquids, like Flourish and Flourish Iron.

While my powerhead dosing works great, it two disadvantages: the mixtures degrade somewhat over time, and (therefore) need to be replaced/refilled regularly.

So I spent quite a bit of time and parts to figure out a simple, cheap, reliable and repeatable design for this "Fluidoser" It is still not 100% finished, but I have 4 or 5 of them running (dry, but fine so far).

Here is a step-by-step instruction if you want to try one or a few of these.

First, here is what we need:

- a mechanical timer
- some syringes (more about that later)
- plastic wire clamps the size of the syringes
- a couple of screws (I use #4-40 x 1/2")
- two check valves for each doser
- some plastic T's
- zip ties
- something to attach to the timer to hold the syringe (I use paint stirrers from HD)
- a little piece of drip irrigation hose or some sort of washers
- (not shown) some airhose, I am going to use the "mini" kind to reduce the amount of fluid remaining in the hose

Okay, now that we have everything, we need some basic tools:

- screwdriver for the screws
- drill with drill bit ( I needed a 3/32" for the screws I used)
- if you have a Dremel it helps to shape the paint stirrer

I guess that's it for now. Here is what we do: