Tiger Barbs
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish

Old 12-06-2003, 08:31 PM   #1
mattrmiller
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)

My brother was thinking about starting a 29 or 30 maybe 40 gallon. He really likes tiger barbs, but he asked me for more information. I have done some research and found that they can be snippy in smaller schools. So here are my questions to the experts, since I have had no experience with them.

1) Are they compatible with other fish that he wants to do ex) small neons, loaches, cory's, etc?

2) What is a good school for a 29 gallon, if you have around 6 other tank mates of another type of fish?

3) Can the albino tiger barbs be mixed in the same school as regular barbs?

4) Anything else I should know about tiger barbs, that I could pass on to him.

Thank you.
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-07-2003, 06:11 PM   #2
malkore
Planted Tank Guru

matt, I would avoid fish with long, flowing fins, like bettas or guppies with tiger barbs. some also warn against gouramis, which can be pretty mean in their own way.
I have a 29gallon myself, and keep a minimum of 6 green tiger barbs in there. 6 is the minimum for a good schooling size. I have 2 albino tigers that I just added, and yes they school together. You should be able to mix the greens, normals and albinos without problems, just try to get them all about the same size. I started with 8 greens, and the 2 smallest were killed over thanksgiving..and the remaining runt looks like he's not eating much.

I have rummy nose tetra (4), lemon tetra (6) yo-yo loaches (3) and 4 cory cats in my tank, and things are pretty harmonious. I did add 2 opaline gourami, and they only seem to bother each other.
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3