string alge
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2006, 02:23 AM   #1
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Red face

string alge


does raising co2 to 30ppm and adding kno3 and po4 should clear up the alge, i lower my ph to 6.6 w/controler , i have to check my kh , my po4 is at 1. and my kno3 is at 5 ,my lights {6 t5 ho 54w} are on for 10hr of 216wpg and another 108w for noon brust for 3hr , 110g tank w/co2 reactor and controller i don't add ferts and i do water changs 1 time a month
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2006, 02:38 AM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,638
Default

Unless you have a really large fish population in that tank you do need to fertilize. I assume you have a lot of plants? You need them if you want to avoid algae outbreaks. Don't use uncalibrated test kits to decide whether or not you need to fertilize. If you try the EI method I suspect you will be much more satisfied with the results.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 02:22 AM   #3
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

no i don't have alot of fish , i only have 6 and they are under 1/2 inch , i only have a few plants too, i know i need add a alot more plants
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 03:19 AM   #4
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,638
Default

May I suggest that you get a big bunch of cheap stem plants and at least float them in the tank? Algae seem to rely on chemical signals to tell the spores to start the growth process. One of those signals is ammonia. If you have a lot of plants any ammonia spikes will be almost instantly used by the plants, but if you don't, those spikes can be just what the algae are waiting for to start growing. (You can get almost free stem plants here at the swap n shop forum almost any day.)
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 05:12 PM   #5
g8wayg8r
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
g8wayg8r's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St Charles, MO
Posts: 517
Default

I have a ten-gallon tank with a flourite substrate. I also use DIY CO2 to get the pH in the mid six range at 3 dH. It loaded full of plants and I never get any algae except hair. Here's my fish load: one oto, one harliquin rasbora and recently, one platy and one xiphophorus variatus, which have had no effect on the algae. No green spot, film, brown, red, grey or whatever algae - just big balls of green hair. Much of it grows off the substrate as well as the plants.

I also have a five-gallon no-tech tank with a soilmaster substrate. It's full of young xiphophorus variatusis and platies. There is significantly less algae on the substrate and plants. I suspect the iron and the addition of CO2 is the only physical difference other than the plants. To me, it looks like the high iron and CO2 levels promotes the growth of hair algae. I could add nitrate and phosphate but I've been resistant because I don't want to introduce other problems. I just pull out any clumps of hair alage I see during the water change.

I will never use fluorite as the substrate again. I may use it as a first layer, but never alone again.
__________________
Andrew, MASI Treasurer

This message is always under construction: 75-gallon tank; 2, Eheim 2026 filters - one twice broken; Tek Light with 4, 54W T5s (6000K) ; Sand on top of 4:1 sand:clay mixture; Milwaukee CO2 controller; PlantGuild vortex CO2 reactor; pH = 6.6, kH=70mg/l, GH=120mg/l; EI; Flourish excel on 50% weekly water change: AGA Member.
g8wayg8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012