Ok. Does this sound right?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
A.2013
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 21
Default

Ok. Does this sound right?


For one of my tanks I am wanting to use safe-t-sorb.
I have a 8pH out of the tap and the water is moderately hard. I want to put either peat moss or peat humus under a layer of sand then cap with safe-t-sorb. The tanks will be heavily planted with mostly stem plants. Perhaps some small foreground cover as well. I have no problems at all doing water column ferts in between batches of fry or root tabs. I'm looking at low or moderate light in a 10g tank.

This tank will be a spawn tank/fry tank for the first month so it will get almost daily water changes at certain points.

The tank will be fully cycled before and fish go in.

Should I use humus or moss? Perhaps I'll just do one tank of each...
A.2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2013, 04:35 PM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,312
Default

I would skip the humus or peat moss and the sand.

Use pure STS.

STS will remove the KH from the water, and allow the pH to drop. If your fish need blackwater then add peat moss to your filter. You can then change it out as needed.

STS + Peat (I actually used Soil Master Select) is not any better than using pure STS and peat in the filter. And the peat in the filter method allows you to change the amount and add new peat as needed.

Your substrate does not need more CEC, either. STS is already a high CEC material.

If you are raising Killies that breed in peat, then just use pure peat in that tank.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:58 PM   #3
A.2013
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 21
Default

I am doing betta so no filter. perhaps a sponge filter.
A.2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:33 PM   #4
A.2013
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 21
Default

OK. Safe-t-sorb is in. I rinsed it really well but I still have to run a filter daily to collect particles. No problem. I'm wondering how deep it needs to be for a 10 gallon tank? It's probably 2 1/2" in the back and 1 1/2" in the front.
A.2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012