New To the Plants!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 05-19-2013, 09:41 PM   #1
Dirge337

PTrader: (0/0%)

New To the Plants!

Hello Everyone!

I just broke down my saltwater 55 gallong tank and wanted to start up a large planted tank. I'm fairly new to the planted tank and i was just wondering if what i have would be good to start or if i need to upgrade a bit more:

I have:

55 gallon long tank
Aqueon LED light with 2 Day White bulbs and 1 Colormax bulb
A 70 gallon Aquaclear filter with a bag of carbon and a bag of a Phosphate remover
2 powerheads

No sand or decor/rock yet. I want to do driftwood but ive heard it attracts hair algae. Another question would be what would be compatible fish wise with plants. Any advice would be awesome.

Thanks!
Dirge337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2013, 12:27 AM   #2
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru

If you want plants, your tank is going to need CO2, pressurized ideally, 2-2L bottle DIY yeast might be enough if you're keeping less demanding low light plants.
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 03:03 PM   #3
GMYukonon24s
Planted Tank Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirge337 View Post
Hello Everyone!

I just broke down my saltwater 55 gallong tank and wanted to start up a large planted tank. I'm fairly new to the planted tank and i was just wondering if what i have would be good to start or if i need to upgrade a bit more:

I have:

55 gallon long tank
Aqueon LED light with 2 Day White bulbs and 1 Colormax bulb
A 70 gallon Aquaclear filter with a bag of carbon and a bag of a Phosphate remover
2 powerheads

No sand or decor/rock yet. I want to do driftwood but ive heard it attracts hair algae. Another question would be what would be compatible fish wise with plants. Any advice would be awesome.