10 Gallon Nooby Tank *UPDATED 7/7/13* - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 07:28 AM   #31
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai808 View Post
Hey, I just noticed that your tank might be outside of the house. Try to cover the sides of the tank during the day so the sunlight is minimized. Does the HOB fit on the short side of the tank? Maybe that could give it more flow in that position.

I would also take out that rock with the BGA and put some H2o2 on it. That normally kills it for me.

Sorry, one last thing. You probably want to tie that Java fern to a rock or wood. The rhizome should be out of the substrate, the roots are fine in the substrate. Plus it'll be easier to move once they get huge.

Good Luck!
Haha thanks kai!, nawh my filter wont fit on the side, its actually a 20 gallon filter, there is no sunlight that hits y tank at all but the light shines on the ground about 5 feet away from it. Ahould i still cover it?
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2013, 01:20 PM   #32
Cmarsh989
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Garden City Kansas
Posts: 17
Default

I had pretty bad Algae problems, I dropped my lighting and added a powerhead and an Otto it cleared right up!
Cmarsh989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:50 PM   #33
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmarsh989 View Post
I had pretty bad Algae problems, I dropped my lighting and added a powerhead and an Otto it cleared right up!
Really? Maybe i should try it out! And how many wattage did you drop it to?
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:39 PM   #34
Kai808
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ameri,CA
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugsul808 View Post
Haha thanks kai!, nawh my filter wont fit on the side, its actually a 20 gallon filter, there is no sunlight that hits y tank at all but the light shines on the ground about 5 feet away from it. Ahould i still cover it?
Yeah, I would cover it just to test it out, even indirect sunlight if very strong. Basically you need better circulation, less light, and something to eat diatoms. I used 3 young SAE's in my 12 gallon when I had diatoms. Just make sure you have a bigger tank or someone to take them when they get bigger.
Kai808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:55 PM   #35
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai808 View Post
Yeah, I would cover it just to test it out, even indirect sunlight if very strong. Basically you need better circulation, less light, and something to eat diatoms. I used 3 young SAE's in my 12 gallon when I had diatoms. Just make sure you have a bigger tank or someone to take them when they get bigger.
Okay i will try it out man! Thanks for the heads up!
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:53 AM   #36
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Would it be good to use api algae fix?
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:40 AM   #37
peachii
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
peachii's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: TN
Posts: 890
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugsul808 View Post
Would it be good to use api algae fix?
I just googled API algae fix and this was basically the first thing that popped up. http://www.oscarfishlover.com/forum/...-your-aquarium
peachii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:57 AM   #38
ADA
Wannabe Guru
 
ADA's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai808 View Post
Yeah, I would cover it just to test it out, even indirect sunlight if very strong. Basically you need better circulation, less light, and something to eat diatoms. I used 3 young SAE's in my 12 gallon when I had diatoms. Just make sure you have a bigger tank or someone to take them when they get bigger.
What he said ^
ADA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 05:04 AM   #39
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Maybe its my filter? It contains a bio wheel in it
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:25 AM   #40
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Updated pics will be posted tonight or tomorrow.
__________________
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:59 AM   #41
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Updated Pictures As Of 7/7/13

Aloha Planted Tank! It's been a little more than a month since i last updated my tank. the reason is because it was too horrible to take a picture of lol.


my tank looks a lot cleaner don't you think? credits to my golden algae eater (got rid of him yesterday, he was bullying my SAE)



I took out the rock with the anubias on it. was covered in diatom brown algae in those other pictures. Also attached a java fern with an empty stone that was hiding in the back.



went back to hairgrass belem since my tank is 98% free of diatoms



replaced the three rocks with 2 blyxa japonica. deciding if i should add 1 or 2 of the rocks back. any suggestions?



ludwigia species got what i believe is green spot algae on them?



still a beauty




got some erios from my good buddy! he hooked me up.



Along with this drift wood and this bucephalandra species that i tied it on to!



also got this buce from my buddy. he gave he gave me a nice set of his 'baby' thanks bro!



My otto being lazy.



got this plant hiding in the back my bucephalandra 'kedagang' has grew a bit



SAE at work





attached my anubias on this rock i don't know why
__________________
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:06 AM   #42
ADA
Wannabe Guru
 
ADA's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,081
Default

Looks GREAT!!!! As the plants thicken and grow in, you can refine your scape by trimming.. shape your scape with plants.

I think this time you'll end up with a nice thick lawn of belem.. the Buce's look great, andso do the Erios. I think this is looking really nice. Keep it up!

Go grab yourself a few extra plecos or ottos, gotta keep that algae under control until you have enough plants in there to keep the nutrients stable. Right now it's still quite bare, meaning the plants are not consuming a lot of the nutrients. This doesn't mean you need a lot more plants, but rather that the ones you have need to grow in, and bush out.

Loving it.
ADA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:36 AM   #43
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADA View Post
Looks GREAT!!!! As the plants thicken and grow in, you can refine your scape by trimming.. shape your scape with plants.

I think this time you'll end up with a nice thick lawn of belem.. the Buce's look great, andso do the Erios. I think this is looking really nice. Keep it up!

Go grab yourself a few extra plecos or ottos, gotta keep that algae under control until you have enough plants in there to keep the nutrients stable. Right now it's still quite bare, meaning the plants are not consuming a lot of the nutrients. This doesn't mean you need a lot more plants, but rather that the ones you have need to grow in, and bush out.

Loving it.
thanks man! might add in the other wood and my old hardscape because im thinking that it looks too open on the left hand side
__________________
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:38 PM   #44
Dugsul808
Planted Member
 
Dugsul808's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HNL, USA
Posts: 277
Default

Thinking of adding back my old hard scape plus another drift wood
__________________
Dugsul808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 10:34 AM   #45
Kai808
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ameri,CA
Posts: 568
Default

Wow! The plants in this tank are worth more than all my plants combined! lol. Great job on the planting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugsul808 View Post
Thinking of adding back my old hard scape plus another drift wood
Yeah, it's looking a little flat without it. Can't wait to see it filled in!
Kai808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012