New substrate on top of old?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate

Old 05-06-2013, 09:37 PM   #1
Vepr
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)

New substrate on top of old?

So I setup my 7 gallon as an experiment and get me back into the hobby but I already want to rescape the tank as my original setup was very basic. I was going to drain it pull the plants and rearrange the substrate into more of a mound and then add hardscape and pour more substrate in around it and replant.

I have never tried this before and expect to have a bit of a recycle although I will keep the little canister filter running in a bucket so it is not a complete restart. I started wondering if adding new substrate over semi-established substrate was asking for trouble. I don't plan on completely covering the older substrate but it has me a little worried about parameters for the next few months. I am going to shift the shrimp and fish to my 20 long so that will not be an issue but I am wondering if I am basically starting from scratch even with an established filter? Am I going to run into parameter swings over the next few months as stuff below the new substrate dies off and releases toxins or should it be a shorter window?

Old 05-06-2013, 09:55 PM   #2
flight50
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)

Welcome back.
You'd do more harm by rescaping than you would by adding substrate. You have a very small volume of water to play with in that 7 so the likely hood of restarts are higher with smaller tanks. As long as the depth of your substrate is reasonable for the type used,(play sand, gravel, eco, etc, you should be okay. You can't crush the bacteria but you can suffocate it if oxygen can't get down to it by having the substrate too thick to start. But many people add to existing substrate all the time.